nanoman95

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all

I’m new to saltwater and my friend has moved away so we had his tank and his live rock (around 4kg plus some ocean rock). Everything seems to be going smoothly minus bits on the surface? I’m worried that my water is not getting enough oxygen. Ph is 7.8, Ammonia, nitrite and nitrate all at 0, waiting for phos tests to come but everything else is in parameters although pH is low. Any tips or advice? Comments in general would be great! We plan to build up the rock more, I’ve changed the positioning so I can get to some pest ball anemones this evening as they come out when it’s dark
E160C01F-95B7-4857-A380-A155BDF41ED9.jpeg

Attachments

• 71966238020__4806A4E2-2724-4E34-854E-7C937E2D5C1A.MOV
    1.2 MB

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like you are using a very weak powerhead. Or else its dirty and needs to be cleaned, not much flow coming out of it.

I would suggest to add another powerhead on the opposite side, definitely need more agitation on the surface.

Have a look at the sicce voyager nano powerheads, they are inexepensive and very good quality for the price.

Needs more rock, as you mentioned.

Looks like a good start to me :)

Last edited:
Upvote 0

BairCorals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to r2r! Yeah some surface agitation would help getting the ph up, that little pump just doesn't seem to be doing it. another thing to check is your alk. Alk is the ability to maintain ph. Somewhere between 8-10 would be good. As for the bits up top, unless you get some sort of surface skimmer or overflow, they're gonna be there. You can get a filter sock and run it across the surface every now and again to clean it if you'd like but honestly I wouldn't worry too much on that

Upvote 0

tnw50cal

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0