Misbar Pipe Dream

nastronaut

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there!

I'm relatively new to the community, and have been putting off this build thread for a bit. Things are going swimmingly, and I find myself spending countless sleepless hours scouring the forum for the best sources of calcium chloride dihydrate soooo, probably time to get a build thread up!

So like I said I'm a noob, but I'm the type to really deep dive (obsess) over my hobbies and I've been all up in my sandbed this whole month (just kidding, I try not to disturb it), but between my hermit crab moving my frags , and or trying to find that perfect location and flow for each one, my hands have been a little more wet than I would like to admit.

MVIMG_20200924_102358.jpg

(The face of pure evil)

Okay so, the build?

When I first started researching reef tanks, I was thinking of starting with a 10-20 gal nano and started piecing together a build, I'm all about being frugal with these obsessions, but seeing as brand new equipment would cost a pretty penny, and only be marginally less expensive than larger setups (with more expense in incriminates, later) I decided to investigate the local market for used setups.

In my opinion I lucked out, I'd found an older model of the fluval Venezia 180 (approx 40 gal), with a fluval 206 canister, t5 fluorescent lights (x2 KZ superblue (basically brand new bulbs)), a stand (diy desk convert), with all the basics included (heater, powerhead, salinity refractometer, a brute trash bin full of cured live rock (Coraline is bleached but it's remained submerged, more than I need for sure), and an array of other accessories (pond water pump for mixing, enough salt to get me started, a few various reef supliments/buffers, etc.