80/20 Aluminum Question

kribbz

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For all the 80/20 guys here, I’m looking to use the 80/20 to build a light mount for my t5 fixture. It’s an aquatic life 48” fixture and will have 3 radion xr30’s in it. I’m figuring the weight to be about 31 lbs hanging. What I want to do is build 2 90 degree brackets coming off of the wall and suspending the fixture from it. The bracket needs to come about 24 inches off of the wall to suspend the fixture above the middle of the tank. I've got a few questions for you guys:

1. How do I figure out which brackets to use for the 80/20 to support the weight. I haven’t been able to find any load data on it.
2. How are you guys fastening the rail to the wall?
3. Do you put end caps on the 80/20 to cover up the exposed ends?

I'm new to this stuff so any help or pictures would be greatly appreciated! I put a mock up picture below so it explains what I'm trying to do. The black lines are the rail. The red is the bracket idea I have in my head and then the circle is a carabiner clip that i'm hoping I can fasten to the bracket.

1689598549192.png

Quietman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
8020 has a beam deflection calculator. Assume Fixed One End and you can adjust load location or assume the worst case and put it on end of beam.

Make sure you're putting the anchors into studs. If you don't have studs in convenient locations then put a 3/4" support board in back crossing at least 2 studs and attached to them. Or you may want to go with hanging instead if the anchors are better.

DMathys

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I did something similar to what you are doing but attached to the stand instead of the wall. Hope this helps.

1. I used a deflection calculator to figure out how much sag I would get and played around with different profiles until the sag was almost gone. No brackets or supports needed.