• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

80 shallow reef build

Caseyoidae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,340
Reaction score
2,604
Location
Hudson Valley, NY
IMG_4044.JPG (current tank)
Now that I've had my 57 running for a little over a year I felt it was time to upgrade to an 80. I love the dimensions of this tank! It will be a somewhat slow progression but I'm having fun and the tank hasn't even came in. Started building the stand and pricing out other odds and ends. The big thing right now is a new sump. Keeping my t5 reefbrite combo from the last build as well as apex, jaboe wave makers and dosing pump, ato and all the other goodies that I can switch over. Thanks for taking a look!
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting
OP
Caseyoidae

Caseyoidae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,340
Reaction score
2,604
Location
Hudson Valley, NY
Update, tank and sump have arrived! Ordered an eshoppes eclipse over flow in large and have a car full of boards ready to go on stand! Hoping to get it wet next weekend if time allows

IMG_4177.JPG


image.jpg
 
OP
Caseyoidae

Caseyoidae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,340
Reaction score
2,604
Location
Hudson Valley, NY
I could use suggestions on plumbing my returns. I want them to go through the glass but I'm not sure how that exactly works. I know I'll need two bulk heads and then just plumb through them with lock line? How do returns go through bulk heads?
 

ReeferMadness80G

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
2,111
Reaction score
2,233
Location
Central Florida
Not sure what you mean by, locline going thru the bulkheads. Your bulkhead will sit inside the hole, and one section of pipe will slip into one side of the bulkhead and then another section of pipe will slip into the other end. Similar to how a pvc coupling works.
 

ReeferMadness80G

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
2,111
Reaction score
2,233
Location
Central Florida
I'm using a jebao DCP15000, the new jebao, honestly it's more than I need to run 2 reactors and refugium. 3962 GPH! Just for reference

I use about 42% of that, so roughly between 1600-1800 gph and I also power the feeds for the reactors and the refugium.
 

ReeferMadness80G

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
2,111
Reaction score
2,233
Location
Central Florida
Wow, nice sump! I was thinking about picking that pump up. How do you like it?
Love it. It's very very quiet and being able to dial the pump up/down by increments of 1% is very convenient also. It's a beast tho. I didn't need the 1500 but I wanted to make sure I had enough and wasn't constantly running the pump at 100%
 

How important is it to recreate waves in your reef aquarium?

  • Very Important

    Votes: 109 24.0%
  • Somewhat Important

    Votes: 153 33.7%
  • Not Too Important

    Votes: 111 24.4%
  • Not Important At All

    Votes: 79 17.4%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 2 0.4%

Online statistics

Members online
1,202
Guests online
2,979
Total visitors
4,181
Corals.com
Top