A warning around purchasing an Alkatronic 2nd hand

BRS

JoshH

Tank Status: Wet...ish, growing things....
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
9,773
Reaction score
34,752
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Humble
I have reached out to the member, that was referenced, who sold this unit via email and have asked him to help out here.

PS. Alkatronic is not a sponsor of this community for those of you looking to drag R2R into this. And yes we will edit and remove posts that go against our TOS whether someone is a sponsor or not. So keep your rude comments to yourself. Thanks.

No one was Dragging R2R into this, someone suggested to reach out to the R2R team and it was pointed out that this likely would be a fruitless endeavour. Also FocusTronic may not be a sponsor directly, however Coralvue who is FocusTronics sole North American distributor is. It is a great thing that you also contacted the seller as well to resolve this issue. And it is definately much appreciated by more than just the OP. :)
 
Last edited:
Top Shelf Aquatics

Karen00

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
1,822
Reaction score
2,731
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Toronto
Most likely letting your camera know the account info for an outbound connection. No changes would have been made to your router. NOW out side of your control if someone was able to take over the place the outbound connection is going to (nest lets say) they could in theory access your device and then hop off if it now being already inside your network bypassing your router entirely since two way communication would do whats called a holepunch and allow a temp open port (all software does this pretty much)
Yes, this exactly! So how do phones deal with ports and firewalls? I run a pretty low tech setup at my house but I remember with some windows software I would get asked to approve firewall changes for ports. How do phone apps deal with this or are they all using existing open ports?
 

Karen00

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
1,822
Reaction score
2,731
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Toronto
Most home camera systems use existing open ports on routers, encrypt the data (nut much, but it is encrypted), and then feed that to the cloud. The issue becomes if the cloud gets hacked, they can see your feeds and possibly IP scheme (most omes are 192.168.xxx.xxx anyways, so who cares). The real issue, that I deal with everyday in IT, is when someone is in your home, able to access the wifi from the camera, port inject it (very simple to do with linux and some free programs), fake a secure handshake and then wreak havoc. Most home users will never experience this, as most home users do not process transactions of 1000s of dollars and all kinds of customer info.

Then there is the fact if Wyse or someone gets hacked and they use the exisitng connection between the camera and the cloud as a port to do things. Again, not very common in residential or very common for most respectable camera/cloud companies.

But in any sense, most home routers from LECs suck for security. Most home wifi from those routers is weak to begin with. Do not get me wrong, there are instances where someone drives around a neighborhood and wifi scans to try and steal someones identity, but it is not super common or we would all have crfedit cards opened in our names without our approval.
Yes. These are the things that I was thinking about although as you mentioned probably not too common in the home setting. Up until now my home environment has been pretty low tech. Until this security camera and a smart power bar I didn't have any devices accessible from the internet so I never had need to do a deep dive into the setup process. :)
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting

a.t.t.r

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2021
Messages
427
Reaction score
451
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
florida
UPnP allows for just that thing to happen.
Those port forwards are temporary and as long as the device installed isn't malicious it is generally just as safe as something using tcp hole punching to a third party service. Most commercial routers have it off by default and most home users really shouldn't worry about it. You are far more likely to be "hacked" by phishing attempts or socially engineered then anything over the network. Now if you run a business that is a whole other story and why it is very important you hire a true IT company to do at least occasional checkup on your systems and never let your nephew who "knows computers" or some low end service like geeksquad into your business.
 

i_am_mclovin

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
405
Reaction score
547
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
wait. I’m late to this thread - but is this a real reply from you???? Holy cow what a disaster of a professional response. The op was so desperate to get help that he posted on the forum after y’all ghosted him for weeks. Then, because the thread is heating up with backlash, you come out of the shadows and sort it??? As Chris rock would say - you don’t get credit for doing what you should just be doing.

Seems to me you guys could have sent the original owner an email right away instead of pushing the op to the literal edge by stonewalling.

I work in pr - the correct response from you should be “Sorry op, but we have sorted it and you’re good to go.” Instead you went with the keyboard warriors tactic.

eh…to each his own. But blasting users of your very niche product - on the largest forum for the very niche product’s use is a bold strategy.
Bold Strategy Reaction GIF by MOODMAN
 

Eagle_Steve

To many tanks!!!!!
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
7,519
Reaction score
41,107
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Eagleville, TN

JeffB418

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
232
Reaction score
240
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
No one was Dragging R2R into this, someone suggested to reach out to the R2R team and it was pointed out that this likely would be a fruitless endeavour. Also FocusTronic may not be a sponsor directly, however Coralvue who is FocusTronics sole North American distributor is. It is a great thing that you also contacted the seller as well to resolve this issue. And it is definately much appreciated by more than just the OP. :)

Actually, Coralvue is no longer a sponsor and hasn't been for many months.
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

zatch

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
1,629
Reaction score
2,681
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Denver
wait. I’m late to this thread - but is this a real reply from you???? Holy cow what a disaster of a professional response. The op was so desperate to get help that he posted on the forum after y’all ghosted him for weeks. Then, because the thread is heating up with backlash, you come out of the shadows and sort it??? As Chris rock would say - you don’t get credit for doing what you should just be doing.

Seems to me you guys could have sent the original owner an email right away instead of pushing the op to the literal edge by stonewalling.

I work in pr - the correct response from you should be “Sorry op, but we have sorted it and you’re good to go.” Instead you went with the keyboard warriors tactic.

eh…to each his own. But blasting users of your very niche product - on the largest forum for the very niche product’s use is a bold strategy.
the-simpsons-he-is-already-dead.gif
 

telegraham

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
80
Reaction score
140
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Right guys … we have now had an eMail from the original owner and this is sorted … for those of you who couldn’t get their head around what was happening .. think about buying an apple phone and the person did not reset it … do you think you can go into an apple shop and ask them to reset it for you ?
Of course not … well the AT works the same way, hence the “unlink” button on the app…
So maybe think before you get on your high horses and become keyboard warriors in the future please !!!

This may be an inaccurate assumption. An appointment at the Apple Store, with receipt in hand, will get you a hardware-locked Apple device unlocked. I've done it. They, however, could not do it over the phone.
 
BRS

What do you use?

  • Gfo

    Votes: 23 6.4%
  • Carbon

    Votes: 132 37.0%
  • Carbon & GFO

    Votes: 117 32.8%
  • Water changes

    Votes: 242 67.8%
Copepods
Top