Advice for beginner: Best set-up for newbie

jtlmnop

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been keeping FW tanks for a few years, and have been researching SW off and on for the last year. I am ready to take the plunge, but can't decide on a set up. Was originally thinking Biocube 32, but I know I'll want something bigger soon after. My question is: Is it insane for a beginner to jump into something like the SCA 50 PNP with sump?? I know all of the advantages of a sump, larger volume, etc, but worried I would be overwhelmed. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Kryptonian

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The larger system is going to allow more cushion for mistakes. More water volume so less drastic changes in things like pH or alk swings, ammonia spikes, or even temp changes. I don't think you'll be overwhelmed running a 50g especially if you already have some experience.

Paulie069

Random Acts Of Kindness
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been keeping FW tanks for a few years, and have been researching SW off and on for the last year. I am ready to take the plunge, but can't decide on a set up. Was originally thinking Biocube 32, but I know I'll want something bigger soon after. My question is: Is it insane for a beginner to jump into something like the SCA 50 PNP with sump?? I know all of the advantages of a sump, larger volume, etc, but worried I would be overwhelmed. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.
My first real reef tank was a 55gal with a 30gal sump,, but the person who had it before me scratched the front glass pretty bad and with my OCD it drove me nuts,, all I ever saw was the scratches and sad part in general it wasn’t really that bad,, but I saw it.
now I have a 65gal and in process of getting a 120gal setup this weekend. Wife is thrilled

Auquanut

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
dark side.jpg