Algae Scrubbers: Do they really reduce algae?

anthonymckay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been battling a hair algae outbreak in my tank for a few months now. I've tried sea hares, urchins, tangs, snails, hermit crabs, etc. Nothing has put much of a dent it in besides some diligent manual removal. My nutrients aren't crazy high (no3: ~10, po4: ~0.05-0.08), but I'm also not a believer in bottoming out nutrients to battle algae at the detriment of my corals.

This brings us to a solution I've been considering: algae scrubbers. I've heard amazing things about them in terms of nutrient management, which I fully believe. I've also seen many people claim that they also reduce/eliminate algae in the display tank. This is where I'm trying to understand how that works. The claim is that it "outcompetes" the algae in the tank... but how? How does a relatively small plastic screen covered in hair algae and some grow lights out compete vast rock work and high intensity lighting in the display tank? Unless you bottom out your nutrients it would seem there would be "plenty to go around" for both algae in the scrubber AND algae in the display tank.

thomas_neil

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn't say it gets rid of it but helps manage what fuels its growth. I think what helps is manually remove as much as you can in the display. Algae scrubbers/refugium's then out compete the algae in the tank for nutrients and gives your CUC/utilitarian fish a chance to keep the algae in the tank under control due to its slowed growth. Your current nutrients are probably lower because you in theory have a refugium in the tank with the algae, once you manually remove it your nutrients will go back up because the algae is up taking it. With an algae turf scrubber installed this will now use the nutrients in lieu of the algae in the tank.

What's nice about them is you can "dial in" your nutrient export by adding or removing time in the light cycle.