All my fish died

JoshuaJames95

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I am new to the reefing hobby, I've had my tank for about 3 months and everything was going great. I then got some coral frags from my local fish store and glued them in using Seachems reef glue. I woke up the next morning and 2/3 of my fish were dead and my wrasse was on its side breathing heavily and later died the next day. I reached out to my local fish store who gave my very little information and also Seachem who didnt reply to my email. I have done a large water change and added some charcoal to remove any chemicals. Im really hesitant to add any more fish. The strange thing is my corals and shrimp seem to be doing fine. One thing that my local fish shop said is I might of put too much glue in (i did use a bit but not loads) and that has stripped out the oxygen from the water. When I use the glue the water gets filled with long stringy fibres from the glue that float around my tank.

Id really appreciate people advice and opinions as to what happened and what i can do in the future to prevent this from happening again. Also any advice before i add anymore fish?

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use the EcoTech coral glue and I haven't had any issues, but I'm typically only glueing 1-2 frags at a time. Wherever possible I try to remove the rock and glue the frag in a separate container of water, rinse and then place back in the tank (discarding the water). I try to use it sparingly. I also run carbon (not sure if that makes a difference or not). When I dip the frags with glue into the tank there is some residue from the glue that quickly drys, floats up and goes into the overflow.

When gluing frags they usually recommend you turn your return pump and powerheads off for a few minutes to assist with the curing. Did you by chance do that?

T-J

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0