Ammonia levels at 1.0 - 2.0 ppm after Aquariam Move

cnfarinella

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the saltwater hobby and I took over a friend of a friend's Red Sea 95 gallon Aquarium. He had the tank for about 10 years with no major issues and some of the fish for 10 years. I had the Tank moved from his house to my house by a professional tank moving service. They had the fish in a bucket (same water from tank), live rock in bucket (same water from the tank). Once the setup was complete it was a full 8 hour day of moving and setting up the tank. Anyways 4 days later all the fish died and the ammonia levels skyrocketed to 2.0 ppm.

In the original setup display was:

- Live Rock
- Sand (threw away because it was filthy)
- fish

Sump included:

- Algae Scrubber
- Protein Skimmer
- Heater
- 2 media reactors

Now it's been a week since I have the tank running ( with no fish) and the ammonia levels haven't dropped, I did 2 20% water changes within a few days, cleaned the entire sump and skimmer, added an entire bottle of beneficial Bacteria within the week.

I just don't know what else to do to get that ammonia level to 0. Do I need to do a larger water change like a 50%? or do I just have to wait out the few weeks since the tank is in a "new syndrome" ?

Eagle_Steve

Grandpa of Cronies
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the saltwater hobby and I took over a friend of a friend's Red Sea 95 gallon Aquarium. He had the tank for about 10 years with no major issues and some of the fish for 10 years. I had the Tank moved from his house to my house by a professional tank moving service. They had the fish in a bucket (same water from tank), live rock in bucket (same water from the tank). Once the setup was complete it was a full 8 hour day of moving and setting up the tank. Anyways 4 days later all the fish died and the ammonia levels skyrocketed to 2.0 ppm.

- Live Rock
- fish

Sump included:

- Algae Scrubber