Anemone Death and Ammonia Spike Recovery

brianhama

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My bubble tip anemone had a run-in with a power head a few weeks ago and crawled behind some rocks. I wanted to give him a chance to recover, but he didn’t make it. I found him today and he was clearly dead so I went to remove him from the tank. As soon as I touched him, he burst open. He basically disintegrated. The tank water turned almost white. And the smell was horrendous.

I removed as much of him as I could with a net and then did a test for ammonia. The test immediately turned green. It had been at 0 just the previous day. So I did a 40 gallon water change. My tank is 125 gallons with a 20 gallon sump. The ammonia is still high. The water is still cloudy. Should I dose with Safe (powder version of Prime)? Should I do another water change right now? Should I just wait until tomorrow and then do another water change? I’ve never used safe/prime on this tank before. Part of me wonders if it’s really that healthy for the fish.

Any advice appreciated!

hdsoftail1065

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I seen you posted this yesterday, how is your tank going? Did you do a second water change and are you running carbon?

ashtonnnnn

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My bubble tip anemone had a run-in with a power head a few weeks ago and crawled behind some rocks. I wanted to give him a chance to recover, but he didn’t make it. I found him today and he was clearly dead so I went to remove him from the tank. As soon as I touched him, he burst open. He basically disintegrated. The tank water turned almost white. And the smell was horrendous.