Any Advice??

Stormlantern

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to saltwater but I've kept up two freshwater tanks for a few months and I've been trying to do some research. Everything fresh is doing well, but I have an 82 gal hex tank with a sump that I got on Cragislist. I wanted to keep some fish my parents had given me alive, but they didn't know what was what and gave me brackish fish in a saltwater tank (a mud moray and a green spot puffer, along with some actual freshwater fish) So to keep them alive I rushed into purchasing this tank I found and I've been trying to set it up just right. I've had it for a little over a month right now, and so far I've been enjoying my adventure into marine aquaria. A few days ago, I returned my puffer since the eel tried twice to eat him. So now I'm looking for advice. I have a big, tall tank with a few dry rocks and an eel. I added some chaeto algae and copepods to refugium in the sump.
Here's a few things I was wondering about:
How necessary is an RO system? Right now I'm doing tap water with conditioner in buckets for water changes.
Are there water testing tips I need to know? My current system is just checking all the parameters in the API marine test kit.
My filtration system is really outdated as best I can tell. It came with the tank, so I was just hoping to make it work. Not sure if the skimmer is properly functioning though, and the only real filtration is a bunch of bio balls with a coarse cut to fit filter over them. I'll try and include some pics
Where should I go as far as stocking? I'd like to keep the eel, but at this point I might return him too and try and get a fresh start. Although that does kinda feel like I'm letting him down.. oh well.
And I was wondering about the difficulty jump from fowlr to reef. Is it worth messing with coral?

Sorry to just dump all that. If you have an answer to any of these questions, let me know!