Any help and recommendation?

SyssyHUN

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello :)

I am new in this hobby and struggling with light setup. My aquarium size is 120x40x50.

I had a giesmann T5 8x39W which was getting my aquarium crazy so I swapped to LED. I have now a noname DIY saltwater LED light fixture from a guy who made some already and he had good growth of coralls and reviews around us.
But somehow the Colors doesn’t seem great like it’s too dark I think.
The LED light now is 100W there are Color’s in it like dark blue,UV,purple,1 orange,1 red LEDs.

I know I suppose to get at least one more of 100W of this light,but not sure if I cannot find something better in this price range $150 in Europe :)
I have a green big mushroom in the middle,one anenome,some zoas,small mushroom,GSP,glove polyps.
I checked Galactica lux meter with IPhone and it shows just 15k lux.
what do you think ? I am attaching some pictures of my aquarium currently. And some pics of the light,during the production.

Thank you

68C7284A-93AE-4BE3-8E4F-FDF705DDA9D3.jpeg0C928849-79B8-408C-A7C7-B4D8690A9A53.jpeg63A42147-9015-42DD-857F-A1F70514A716.jpegA60D53A6-F4A7-4D13-9443-876148380A9C.jpeg809B8C3C-976E-4197-B571-8A63DB9749C1.jpeg

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What went wrong with the T-5 lights? You had a really nice fixture. I use T-5’s and was curious what went wrong for you?

Solga

2 lost souls swimming in a fish bowl ...
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do not know from experience, but from everything I have read, those Giesemann fixtures are supposed to be top of the line for T5's. When you say "getting your aquarium crazy" can you be a little more descriptive as to what you mean by that ?
Because honestly, at the most, you may have just needed new bulbs, and possibly a different color pattern.