Apex Controller....... oh the things you can do!!

Discussion in 'Aquarium Controllers' started by ToXIc, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. vbsaltydog

    vbsaltydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne Beach, FL.

  2. gobeach

    gobeach Well-Known Member R2R Supporter SCMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    I love my controller. I just added a second temp probe, turns out my tank is 1 degree warmer than my sump, go figure. I also just integrated an IP camera into the system, can see streaming video from my dashboard now. Next step is to enable access from the Internet. I travel for work and want to be able to check on the tank.
     
  3. tdb320reef

    tdb320reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MI
    I wish the controller could detect and one could code for current draw of an outlet. This would validate that if an outlet was on but there was no draw then alert such as a pump failing. Also I wish they had a module for PWM support.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013
  4. Fishman5

    Fishman5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    I was just wondering how to set up the apex system to my solenoid ATO


    Sent Via the R2R Forum APP
     
  5. tdb320reef

    tdb320reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MI
    You use the switch on and off via break-out box and put the outlet on a timer Also validate that you have the solenoid in outlet 4 or 8. I also like to add the defer command so you don't get chatter.
     
  6. Fishman5

    Fishman5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Wow that's Chinese to me! I do not yet own my own apex but I am planning on getting one in the very near future. Hopefully u guys can help me set it up and aid me in any problems I might run into.


    Tommy
     
  7. tdb320reef

    tdb320reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MI
    PM me when you get it. I just set one up today for my buddy. I am in the IT field so it comes pretty easy in addition depending on your settings the code is copy and paste.
     
  8. Fishman5

    Fishman5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Idk how to work this app yet but I couldn't find a way to "add you as a friend" so I just wrote ur user name down nd I will defiantly contact u when I get it.


    Tommy
     
  9. vbsaltydog

    vbsaltydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne Beach, FL.
    The Apex has current sensing on the EB level vs the outlet level, thats how they log the Amperage values for each energy bar. This is obviously not adequate for your suggestion as the current sensing would need to be at the outlet level.

    Good idea though.

    I am pretty sure the Apex uses the ATMEGA microcontroller which does have PWM support. I think Neptune just failed to implement the PWM signal output interface and firmware support.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013
  10. tdb320reef

    tdb320reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MI
    I called them and asked and they agreed it is possible but just not avail. I asked when will it be avail and got the "its policy not to discuss the roadmaps of the controller". Hopefully enough people will suggest it that they will add the feature.

     
  11. tdb320reef

    tdb320reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MI
    No Worries - The controller is so big that it is impossible to discuss all of the configs. But I will tell you it will control/ replace your ATO and so much more. Check out my config at reeftronics.net under handle TDB. I have a lot going on it Apex controls it all.
     
  12. goodk

    goodk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    27317 Racquet Cir. Leesburg. Florida
    I have a APEX system aquacontroller it seems that I have it all set up in the computer that Neptune set It up in my computer but cannot open it up.. Need Help from anybody >
     
  13. SantaMonica

    SantaMonica Well-Known Member Toys For Kids 2016

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Santa Monica, California, USA
    Seems like the Apex will do just about everything. Considering that I have a tech background, you would think I would have investigated it sooner.
     
  14. Kirk Simon

    Kirk Simon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD 20879-5307
    I'm looking for a used or blemished Apex controller. maybe even an open box. Anything that will assist me( a quadriplegic) operate my reef and reduce the expense of one of these Apex units.
    Kirk
     
  15. tank of gems

    tank of gems Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    OHIO
    I have my apex gold running everything in my tank and more equipment on my house like exhaust fans dehumidifier etc it's an awesome piece with so much you can control with it
     
  16. homegrowncoral88

    homegrowncoral88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Columbia South Carolina
    Needed this page bad.
     
  17. reggaedrummin

    reggaedrummin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I'm planning to get a controller and appreciate the info...not sure yet if I'll go apex, reef angel, or wait for the new reefkeeper.
     
  18. homegrowncoral88

    homegrowncoral88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Columbia South Carolina
    Let's see some more of the code you guys are using!
     
  19. trido

    trido Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    381
    Location:
    Lynnwood, Washington

    Check out Reeftronics.net. YOu can see hundreds of people's programming there. I for example have 24 outlets , moonlights, a Break out Box, and switch timers along with a storm sim set up with Virtual outlets.
     
  20. homegrowncoral88

    homegrowncoral88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Columbia South Carolina
    Awsome thanks!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...