Apex Controller....... oh the things you can do!!

Discussion in 'Aquarium Controllers' started by ToXIc, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. glb

    glb Valuable Member R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6,588
    Likes Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Miami
    I went without one for 10 years. It's doable but more work. I just got an Apex Jr and love it. It's much easier to monitor things and you can program it in so many different ways.
     

  2. Sleepydoc

    Sleepydoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    500
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    My best example for this question is a video Melevs Reef did a couple of years ago about the 20,000 gallon long island reef exhibit that has no controller. Of course, they have a full time employee who's job it is to monitor everything. Most of us have work and other things in our life.

    A controller doesn't do anything you can't do yourself, but it automates things and does things for you when you're not home, making life significantly easier. There are plenty of successful reefers who don't use controllers, and plenty of reefers who say they'd never run a tank without one. Most of the people who don't have a controller still do use other 'controllers' - lighting timers, auto topoffs, heater controllers, etc.

    One of the nice things I've found with a controller is that it lets you see things that you wouldn't otherwise see and adjust accordingly - I changed my alkalinity dosing schedule to minimize pH swings and realized my tank was getting hotter than I thought it was during the day.

    Another advantage of a controller is the ability to do remote monitoring - when I'm out of town and have someone watching the tank for me, I can log in remotely and check on tank parameters. Things like flood sensors can also alert you to a malfunction ATO or float sensor to the skimmer reservoir before major damage is done.

    One down side to be aware of is that it's very possible to program a controller incorrectly and cause major damage that way as well.

    So basically, a controller isn't required, but it makes life easier. Even if you don't get a controller, Most people would still recommend getting an auto topoff system and a backup heater controller.
     
    Ranjib likes this.
  3. Devisissy

    Devisissy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    34
    Works with Powerview to shut shades at a certain time when light hits the tank. Granted it's linked directly to light control still nifty.
     
    Ranjib and glb like this.
  4. Adam Kuhn

    Adam Kuhn Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ranjib likes this.
  5. Crabby48

    Crabby48 Active Member R2R Supporter NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    896
    Location:
    NJ
    If for some reason the new apex controller dies would the outlets lose power on the eb832?
     
  6. Sleepydoc

    Sleepydoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    500
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    No. The Fallback statement in your program determines the behavior of the outlets if communication is lost with the controller.
     
    Crabby48 likes this.
  7. Crabby48

    Crabby48 Active Member R2R Supporter NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    896
    Location:
    NJ
    Would like to hear opinion on this.
    I am setting up my 2 mp40, L1 return pump between two circuits in case on fails I can still have some pumps running. Apex will control RP.
    I was thinking of getting a 2nd eb832 so I can still have separate circuits but have option to control other things like mp40, AI hydras even monitor power consumption.
    Would this be ok or is it better to use a power strip?
     
  8. killr66tb

    killr66tb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Morro bay california
    Could someone please tell me how to get my wav pumps to turn off with feed mode A their plugged straight into the power bar not a module
     
  9. Sleepydoc

    Sleepydoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    500
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    When you log into fusion, go to the outlets page and identify which outlet(s) they are on. If you click on the outlet it will take you to the page to program for that outlet. Switch the 'Control Type' drop down menu to 'Advanced'

    There should be a configuration window on the right that shows the programing. Add something like:
    If FeedA 000 Then OFF
    to the programming. That tells the outlet to turn off if the FeedA profile is active and stay off for 000 minutes afterwards.
     
  10. killr66tb

    killr66tb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Morro bay california
    Thanks to everyone I am loving my new Apex and WAV pumps I've never had powerheads as strong as these I mean wow wow wow powerful. Also noticed a beta for Alexa and started using it boy is that cool. Worth every penny as long as my wife doesn't find out.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...