Apex programming question

Miller535

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
1,937
Location
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I built my own apex io with toggles and momentary push buttons. I would like to use one of the momentary push buttons to turn on Feedmode A. My push botton is named VFeed. Would the following command work.

If VFeed closed then Feedmode A on


I just want the push button to initiate the Feedmode A, that way when feedmode is over, everything goes back on.

Thanks.
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
4,214
Reaction score
9,213
Location
Oregon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The Feed cycles cannot be triggered through programming. They can only be activated by clicking the Feed A/B/C/D button on the dashboard.

However, you can simulate a Feed cycle through programming as I explain in my Apex Feed Cycles tutorial:
 

Pistondog

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 28, 2020
Messages
5,302
Reaction score
9,439
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks @SuncrestReef. So going by your article if I did something like:

If VFeed closed then off
Defer 010:00 then on

Would that work?
Beware, I had to use the real, original io name, sw2, in my case or it didn't work.
And it can take up to a 5 second press hold to be read/recognized.
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
4,214
Reaction score
9,213
Location
Oregon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks @SuncrestReef. So going by your article if I did something like:

If VFeed closed then off
Defer 010:00 then on

Would that work?
If VFeed is the name of your button, then yes, your code will work.

You may run into a bit of confusion if discussing this topic with others because "VFeed" is typically the name of a virtual output most people use as shown in my tutorial, rather than a breakout box button. But it will still work.
 
OP
OP
Miller535

Miller535

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
1,937
Location
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If VFeed is the name of your button, then yes, your code will work.

You may run into a bit of confusion if discussing this topic with others because "VFeed" is typically the name of a virtual output most people use as shown in my tutorial, rather than a breakout box button. But it will still work.

It did work, thanks. I still have to program the other 5 switches. 1 of them is an emergency stop button that will turn EVERYTHING off in case something really bad it happening. And 4 toggle switches to turn things off for maintenance. Now on the toggle switch commands, I have one named "Re_Swi", this is for the return pump. I want it to turn off and stay off as long as that switch is closed.

So I would obviously use a command like:

If Re_swi is closed then off

Do I also need to write, "If Re_swi is open then on"?

Thanks
 

More than just hot air: Is there a Pufferfish in your aquarium?

  • There is currently a pufferfish in my aquarium.

    Votes: 30 18.2%
  • There is not currently a pufferfish in my aquarium, but I have kept one in the past.

    Votes: 27 16.4%
  • There has never been a pufferfish in my aquarium, but I plan to keep one in the future.

    Votes: 31 18.8%
  • I have no plans to keep a pufferfish in my aquarium.

    Votes: 69 41.8%
  • Other.

    Votes: 8 4.8%

New Posts

Back
Top