Aquarium Engineering-ACR Calcium Reactor

special-ops-s2k

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
343
Reaction score
583
Problem fixed after chatting with Bill - my CO2 wasn’t pumping high enough, so no bubbles, so no Alk coming out. Fixed that and dialed it back to 1/200 and it’s doing an amazing job already keeping my Alk in range with the help of my Alkatronic monitoring it and my Apex managing the input pump on/off to the ACR if Alk goes too high. Loving the setup so far!!
What pump are you using to feed the ACR? Or is it fed off your return?
 

Ewilson

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
264
Reaction score
72
Location
Houston
I'm sure you have done this already but if it is chopping bubbles really bad did you try opening highest point until water comes out. Basically purging all air out. May take a couple trys and also I would try tilting the unit on its side a couple times. Should help with the noise. I would really love to know if it got quieter for you because I'm about to pull the trigger but noisy will be a deal breaker for me. TIA
its supposed to have bubbles in the reactor, its the CO2 recirculating
 

HolySmoke

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 4, 2019
Messages
139
Reaction score
100
its supposed to have bubbles in the reactor, its the CO2 recirculating
I know I ran the old vertex rx6 duo for years which did the same. But when you have the gas plus trapped air it can be 10x worse. That is why I was asking. The noise should be pretty consistent and not loud spikes of trapped air hitting the impeller.
 

DangerDave

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
1,819
Location
Little Egg Harbor, NJ
It took me a week or so of receiving mine to get it working. First I didn't know about the purge process that is required. Once I read through a bunch of posts here and on the FB group I found that. Once I did that, it still wasn't working. Turned out my recirc pump wasn't working. I took it apart, cleaned, and greased the ceramics with molycote I was good to go. It's been solid, I've only adjusted the dose twice now. I bought a back up pump just in case...

It's running great now. I think if they included thorough set up and maintenance/troubleshooting documentation with the unit, this thing would be perfect from day one and AE would make a killing.

Dave
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

HolySmoke

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 4, 2019
Messages
139
Reaction score
100
Thanks for the feedback. Anyway you could compare the sound of it to something? Or record a video and hold phone right next to the ACR? My tank is completely silent right now and ai want to keep it that way. Thanks for your help. If I sell my dual stage regulator, cal rx, and kamoer this seems like a no brainer.
 

DangerDave

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
1,819
Location
Little Egg Harbor, NJ
So mine is in a fish room. I can’t hear the pump over the x5 overflows, x3 dos, ro booster pump, skimmer wiper, and dehumidifier. When I get close I only hear a low hum and the sound of it chopping the CO2 bubbles. It’s very low sound levels that probably wouldn’t be heard outside of a stand cabinet.

What I can hear is the CO2 going in. It has a loud whine every time, if only for a couple seconds. If this was in my living space, I’d have a hard time with it.
 

BrianReefer

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
283
Reaction score
165
What pump are you using to feed the ACR? Or is it fed off your return?
Originally had it on a dedicated pump. That was causing lots of issues - I suspect pressure wasn’t high enough and in one instance the pump turned off and caused a back feed of a large amount of effluent! Switched to tee it off the return and it’s been running flawlessly since for 2 months.
 
Corals.com

ca1ore

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
10,643
Reaction score
14,223
Location
Stamford, CT
Asking for a non forum reefing buddy of mine ....

For recent recipients of the ACR, has Bill produced a set of instructions yet?
 

marinelife

SaltGeek
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
365
Reaction score
84
Location
Union Ohio
I purged the unit a few times, it has gotten better but is not quiet. I have been thinking about moving it to a cabinet I have at the end of my tank but have yet to do so. My wife and daughter say they do not even hear it anymore. It's become part of the room.
 

HolySmoke

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 4, 2019
Messages
139
Reaction score
100
That's reassuring thanks marinelife.
If it was me purging that thing I would purge it for 24 hours not a half hour but I have never seen the unit in person and bill is a smart guy. Air gets trapped everywhere in calcium reactors though.
 

ca1ore

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
10,643
Reaction score
14,223
Location
Stamford, CT
Although I do not run the ACR, preferring one I made myself, I do an auto purge of the entire reactor every night.
 

HolySmoke

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 4, 2019
Messages
139
Reaction score
100
Gotcha thanks. I wonder if you could get away with a slightly smaller circ pump to quiet it down some.
 

RSnodgrass

Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 18, 2018
Messages
57
Reaction score
85
Has anyone tested the effluent to verify pH or dkh?

Is the height of the float valve and recirculating line adjustable?
 

marinelife

SaltGeek
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
365
Reaction score
84
Location
Union Ohio
the float switch and recirc line can not be changed.
The PH is about 6.4 but I have not tested mine, this is from what others have said
 

The worst paradigm to hit the hobby is getting your nutrient levels as low as possible?

  • Yes

    Votes: 247 53.6%
  • No

    Votes: 87 18.9%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 15 3.3%
  • Not Sure

    Votes: 112 24.3%

Online statistics

Members online
2,383
Guests online
5,018
Total visitors
7,401
https://seattlecorals.com/
Top