Bachelor Clown - Possible Relocation

SnailQueen

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am currently running two setups - a 29 gallon that has been up for 12 years and a 3 gallon JBJ picotope that's been up for 4 years. The 29 gallon was originally home to a pair of ocellaris clowns. The original female passed away after hitting herself off the glass tank cover about 6 years ago. I let the original male live as a bachelor for awhile but 5 years ago decided to get him a mate, a significantly smaller black and white ocellaris. As expected, original male became the female and the black became the male. I came home from work today to find the female (original male) had passed away. I have a degree in aquaculture and since he'd been eating normally and showing no signs of parasites or disease, I'm pretty comfortable concluding I'm not dealing with a disease that I need to treat the current male for. The only other livestock in the 29 gallon at the moment are some soft coral and some ducksbill limpets. In the midst of dealing with being bummed about losing a fish that I've had for a really long time, I'm also contemplating whether to downsize the remaining clown into my 3 gallon.