Banggai Cardinalfish death

jts813

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I'm new to the hobby. Last week I got 2 banggai cardinalfish and a diamond goby along with macroalgae for display, purple gorgonian, and snails online. The two cardinalfish died on me this morning practically in front of my eyes. I wish I had gotten a video or photos but didn't think about it and had to run off to work. Wanted to get some advice or maybe more to just vent as reading some similar posts on fish death I get some sense of some of the possibilities and limits without video or photos.

As background. I have a 30 gallon tank. 2 months old. Recent parameters show Ammonia -0, Nitrite -0. Nitrate 20 -40 "okay" on test strip guide. Salinity 35. This was from 2 days ago. Has been this way for the last 2 months essentially. Didn't get chance to test this morning but will do so when I get back home. Preexisting are 2 small clownfish, 2 green chromis, purple firefish, and cleaner shrimp. Was adding 1-2 fish every 2 weeks or so. The last addition prior was the firefish about 3-4 weeks ago. No corals.

Maybe I bought too much at once but was trying to get the best value out of the online purchase and shipping coast. They actually gave me two cardinalfish instead of one that I ordered actually. The online company notes the fish are aquaculture, treated, fed mix of pellets and mysis shrimp. I know, I'll get criticism for not doing QT despite the online companies reputation and protocols.

The cardinalfish looked healthy but did not eat the entire time except one time I saw take a single mysis shrimp and that's it. I usually feed pellets. Sometimes about once or twice a week or so will give flakes and frozen mysis shrimp. They would sometimes take a pellet but spit it right back out. During feeding they would initially seem interested and then just go to a corner or bottom portion of the tank.