Beginner IM Nuvo 20 Build

JPCommenter

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Intro:
I've been researching the saltwater hobby for many years, and reading through all the R2R forums have been a major help and a great source of information. Growing up, I had 10, 29, 46, and 90 gallon tanks but all freshwater. College and rental situations took me out of the hobby for almost 15 yrs. I decided to take the plunge with a smaller AIO due to space constraints.

Equipment:
-IM Nuvo 20 AIO with APS stand
-Stock filtration that comes with the Nuvo AIO. Filter sock and Filter Caddy, haven't swapped out anything yet
-IM Helio 100w heater
-Hygger Mini Wave Maker
-Caribsea Life Rock (on sale at a local Petsmart)
-Fiji Pink sand (only thing available at my local LFS at the time)
-Noopsyche K7 pro III light
-Tunze 3155 ATO
-4 Stage BRS RODI

Cycle:
- Fritz Turbostart 900
- Dr Tims Ammonia
- API Quick Start for good measure

The tank began cycling on 1/31/23, and I just added livestock today (2/26/23):

Livestock:
1 GSP
1 Duncan
1 Neon Green Toadstool
1 Tailspot Blenny

As a beginner, I'm sure I will need a lot of help from this community. All input is welcome, even if it criticism. The photo is the scape before livestock was introduced. Lights are currently off for acclimation. I will try to update the thread on a regular basis.

20230217_181534.jpg

OP
OP
J

JPCommenter

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
48 hrs after adding livestock

- The Duncan keeps opening and closing every few hours, and seemed fully open at the earliest (dimmer light), so I adjusted the light to see if it made a difference.. but it stayed retracted on day 2. The GSP and Toadstool seem to be doing fine with the lighting and flow. I've kept the Hygger mini off from the beginning, because the coral seemed to be getting enough flow based on observation.