Breeding Frostbite - what’s your secret?

bakbay

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bought a pair of ORA Frostbite for breeding fun. I’m planning to keep them in a 25g frag tank until they lay eggs. I’ve been reading a lot on how to breed clowns but can be very intimidating and overwhelming!

Questions
1. Separate tank: do I really need a separate tank or can I partition the frag tank up to nurture the fries? I believe that they’ll need lower salinity so I suspect I’ll need another small tank anyway since the main tank and frag are running at 1.025?
2. I understand that I’ll need to harvest food IF/when I have a new clutch. Buying a starter pack is the way to go right?

What is your secret? If you’ve successfully breed them, can you share your method? I’ve never done this before so seeking for help.

Thanks

IMG_5818.jpeg

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
You may want to do a search for "Pickles guide to breeding clownfish". I have always used a separate tank for the fry and I think you will find that it will be the common recommendation. The salinity in the fry tank does not need to be lower. Some commercial clownfish breeders keep their fish in lower salinities because it saves money on the cost of salt. Although clownfish fry have been successfully raised without live food, IME the most common first food is rotifers which will either need to be raised or purchased (typically these will be raised from a starter culture). The fish can be transitioned from rotifers to the various sizes of Reef Nutrition foods. Good luck with your breeding efforts!

OP
OP
bakbay

bakbay

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0