Brice's first Salt Water tank - Reef Aspirations -

Brice Wagner

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I moved to the DMV area in March 2018 from N. California. I am an analytical chemist by trade and enjoyed working in a finish product lab in NC before CA. When we moved to DMV I obtained a position, still in the science field but I no longer in a laboratory setting.

I knew I would miss the world of chemical preparation, quantification, analysis, trouble shooting and diligent record keeping that comes with being a practicing chemist. I thought that keeping an aquarium would be an appropriate outlet; I was right!

I bought a second-hand 20gal high tank and stand off of craigslist. At the time I thought I had gotten a real deal. It had a filter and heater come with it, along with some very nice plastic plants :D. I filled the tank and no leaks were found. The heater (100w aqueon pro) had a broken thermostat, regulating at 89F both on the highest and lowest settings. It didnt take long to realize the filter was useless as well (some tetra "whisper" model that buzzed when running).

Any how, I started with and currently use RO water from this righteous aquarium store (congressional aquarium, MD). The rest came quickly, ~30 lbs Caribsea Ocean direct sand, and initial 5 lb live rock (like any noob I got the painted purple rock). After research, I chose a 425 gph Hydor korilia PH and a Aquaclear 30 filter. I mixed the water, added the sand and some starter bacteria and patiently waited for the cycle. 0708181846.jpg
0710181847.jpg
Early in the cycling I decide to pick up a beautiful 15 lb Texas holly rock(dry) and a very expensive mag glass cleaner (piranha, Algae free).
0718182009.jpg
Once the ammonia level went down nitrates showed around 20ppm, pH 8.1; I acquired a heater and some new buddies!
0810181609a.jpg 2 Clowns, 1 Fire Shrimp, 1 Golbi
0810181634a.jpg 0811181147e.jpg 0810182005h.jpg