Bristle Worms

stacey_112217

View Badges
Reaction score
How do I get rid of them? My tank is infested I am relatively new to the hobby, I have only had the tank for a little over a year and found the little worms about 6 months ago but everyone kept telling me it was OK and normal and it would not harm my tank but then my Sand sifting star started to get smaller and smaller about two months ago and then died I think the worms ate all the food available and it starved but they said it was not the fault of the worms. But now my tank is just crawling with them and harmful or not I want them gone.

Last edited:

SDK

Reef Diver
View Badges
Reaction score
Do a google search for “bristleworm trap”. There are commercial and diy versions out there. You can also get a Coral Banded Shrimp or Arrow Crab if either of those will work with your current livestock.

You will most likely not be able to eliminate them, only reduce the numbers. They are a great part of your clean up crew.

One other note is to watch how much food you are adding. Bristleworms getting to infestation levels are a sign of possible overfeeding

Billdogg

View Badges
Reaction score
Arrow crabs are very opportunistic feeders. They will eat bristleworms, sure, but they will also eat anything else they can get their claws on.

Many wrasses will hunt for BW's and make good reef fishes.

IME, an overabundance of bristleworms is a direct result of too much food being available to them. If you limit their food source their population will self regulate. Stop overfeeding, clean your sand regularly, etc

Last edited:

SDK

Reef Diver
View Badges
Reaction score
We have these locally in our waters. Are they known to pick at corals too? Never considered one as a cleaner

Mine never bothered corals. They are a tough fit in a tank community though. They will prey on smaller/slower fish, and large fish will prey on them.

McDam

View Badges
Reaction score