Building Stands for School Reef Tank

PistachioSkyBird

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I am looking in to building a stand for a 300 gallon reef tank for a school. I am looking to save money by building it with the help of a master welder who has donated his time to help build other school projects. I am new to the reef hobby and am not sure what exactly I need to watch out for with building the stand. I know that it needs to be level and obviously support the immense weight of the water. I am planning on using stainless steel 90s that are between 4 to 6 inches wide. I think I will be able to get some of the ones that they normally use as roof supports for large buildings. What are other things that I need to take in to account?

When I talked to the local fish store they warned me that I only get a 30 day warranty instead of a 3 year warranty if I put the tanks on stands that are not from the same company. Is that worth it?

They will be sitting on a tile floor that has concrete underneath. Are there any suggestions for how to make the feet? Something adjustable would make it easier to level but I don't know if it will be strong enough. Is there something I can do to help protect the tile floor?

There will be 3 other tanks that are installed at the same time. Here is a proposed design for the tanks and the stands. The saltwater tank is the one closest to the camera (and the one that has the sump underneath).
Screenshot 2022-09-16 071706.png

Dave_1972

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would consider going mild steel and having it powder coated rather than using stainless. Stainless is going to have it's own requirements for welding - your master welder can handle it I'm sure but you might run the idea of simply having it powder coated past them. Find a local to do the powder coat and maybe they cut you a break on price since it is for the school.