Calcium reactor. to count drip rate or not??

d_adler

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
im just setting up my 2 stage calcium reactor and i have MANY questions..

i want to try and follow this method.

i was going to use a steady stream method where you do not count the drip rate but use the melting point to adjust.

current equipement list:
geo reef 510 reactor (main)
geo reef 410 secondary chamber
carbon doser reguator
needle valve
5 gal co2 tank
2016 apex to turn the regulator on and off

i am very new to calcium reactors and have done my research but all of it pertains to counting drip.
when doing this alternative method:

1. i was wondering what pressure should be going into the regulator?
2.i was starting with a ph zone between 7.25-7.4 and i cant keep the ph steady. if i have the carbon doser set to 1 bubble every 10 second and it continues to not stay steady can i adjust the pressure to the regulator to try and stabilize the ph?
3. ive realized since starting 2 days ago that even with the secondary chamber that the ph in my tank has lowered from 7.9-8.1 to 7.7-8. could this be because of how small the second chamber is? should i be worried about raising/chasing numbers?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Low tank pH is a drawback of CaCO3/CO2 reactors, and extra chambers do not change that fact. All the CO2 that you are adding ends up in the tank, and curiously, the pH of the reactor effluent is not an indication of how much CO2 is being delivered to the tank.

When you say pressure to the “regulator”, what do you mean exactly? The actual regulator will have the normal pressure of a CO2 cylinder open to it.

OP
OP
d_adler

d_adler

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0