Can you run a successful reef long term without this....

Can you run a a successful reef long term without some type of reactor and media?

  • Yes

    Votes: 366 69.1%
  • No

    Votes: 68 12.8%
  • Not sure

    Votes: 96 18.1%

  • Total voters
    530

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
38,939
Reaction score
40,618
Can you run a a successful reef long term without some type of reactor and media?

What type of reactor and media combos are you running?



imageproxy.php.jpg

image via P Sherman
 
Legendary Corals

Crabs McJones

Mayor of R2R
View Badges
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
21,352
Reaction score
94,650
Location
Fond du Lac
What's your definition of long term? And does a refugium count as media since chaeto removes nitrates, phosphates, and filters?
I've been running my reef now for 5 years, no reactors, no media, just a refugium with chaeto and a skimmer :)
 

Eagle_Steve

To many tanks!!!!!
View Badges
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
2,097
Reaction score
6,716
Location
Eagleville, TN
10 tanks, oldest is 6 years at this point (longer if you count upsizing tanks when we moved the first time). No reactors on any of those. Only fuge and skimmer. Filter socks once a month for a day when I stir sand and blow out rocks. Granted some are nanos, but they make reactors for those also lol.

1 tank has a DIY charcoal reactor driven by an MJ1200. It is just a modified whole home filter with carbon in an old DI cartridge. It is about to come out, as it is a pain to keep flow consistent through the carbon.
 

Reefiness

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
538
Reaction score
250
Location
Staten Island, NY
Depends on the coral too. I ran a 90 gallon softy tank successfully for about 10yrs with no skimmer, no reactors, and no water changes. Had some hair algae, but coral thrived. Only ended that spree when I decided to go "kosher" and get all the bells and whistles so I can get sps. Sometimes I wish I was back in the good old days. Had a heavier wallet back then too.
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting

aqua_code

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
233
Reaction score
377
Location
Baltimore
Carbon should go in a reactor and be at a small trickle. Check out melevs reef recent videos about it. Putting a bag of carbon in a filter sock 'can' work but it's not going to be nearly as effective. Can't believe only one other person voted no.
 

motortrendz

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
1,553
Reaction score
2,959
Location
Lacey NJ
I've always used reacors. A friend of mine has a very simple 75g tank with a hob filter and a hob skimmer. And his tank is beautiful. It drives me crazy actually bc I've spent thousands on filters and reactors for my tank(not complaining, I love my setup) but he can keep everything I can. But he definitly spends alot more time doing maintenance.
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting

Waterislife

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
100
Reaction score
139
I've been in saltwater since 1997, only run chemipure in my sump in place of sponge and filter socks
 

Retro Reefer

Slow and steady wins the race!
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
5,364
Reaction score
28,970
Location
Manassas Va
I don’t run them, occasionally I will use carbon for short periods of time but I just put it in a filter sock replacement cup which seems to work great.
 

SaracensRugby

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
153
Reaction score
152
Location
Chicago
I mainly use a refugium with chaeto, and skimmer. It's a Triton style sump with no socks so nothing to change there. I do run a carbon reactor from time to time, but not on a consistent basis. Recent pic of my mixed reef tank that is 1.5 years in.

IMG_6658.jpg
 

BeejReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
2,168
Reaction score
10,265
Location
Oxford, Pennsylvania
I don't know, but I'm sure trying ;Joyful
Deluxe Elite Bag-O-Carbon (it is the good stuff) and
XXL Turbocharged Hunk-O-Chaeto

If I somehow make a mess of things, I'll sometimes put a filter pad in the sump baffles for a day or two.
 

Waters

"...in perfect isolation, here behind my wall."
View Badges
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
4,170
Reaction score
5,189
Location
Mentor, OH
I voted yes you can run one without any reactors but it really depends on the tank....although there are other ways to remove unwanted "stuff" other than reactor media. I run three reactors.....one with GFO, one with Carbon, and one with CO2 absorbent media.
 

Quietman

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
312
Reaction score
1,324
Well I sure hope so....no plans to run reactor, just a small amount of GAC in my media basket. But I did set it up this way on purpose...carbon dosing and big skimmer. Plus routine WC and understand a bit more maintenance maybe required. We'll see. I'm not claiming any success until at least the 2 year point. Seems to be the generally accepted min on success time.
 

MnFish1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
7,835
Reaction score
8,687
I have a 'reactor' that has carbon in it - but - its really no different than having it in a filter sock - so I wasnt sure how to answer this question. (I answered no) - I have tended to try to minimize (over time) the use of automation/reactors, etc - as its just one more thing to 'go wrong'. That said - I did order a mindstream...
 

MARK M. DAVIS

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
183
Reaction score
108
Small tanks < 125 can get away with no reactor. Sps thrive with a reactor but, need to dose supplemental trace and aminos.
 
Legendary Corals

What keeps you "driving forward" in this hobby?

  • Tank success

    Votes: 150 39.8%
  • Hobby Friendships

    Votes: 12 3.2%
  • Boredom

    Votes: 6 1.6%
  • Fish as your pets

    Votes: 95 25.2%
  • Can't quit now! Too much invested.

    Votes: 52 13.8%
  • I make money from the hobby

    Votes: 7 1.9%
  • Other (please post in the thread)

    Votes: 55 14.6%

Online statistics

Members online
1,956
Guests online
4,538
Total visitors
6,494
Aqua SD
Top