Clean cable chord managment or nah?

BRS

Do you care what the cords and cables look like around your reef tank?

  • YES

    Votes: 366 58.7%
  • NO

    Votes: 46 7.4%
  • Somewhat

    Votes: 205 32.9%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 7 1.1%

  • Total voters
    624

revhtree

Owner Administrator
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
43,654
Reaction score
68,612
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
How do you feel about cable management? Some people don't really care how it looks and some people want it as tidy as possible! Let's talk about that today!

1. Do you care what the cords and cables look like around your reef tank?

2. Do you have any useful cord managing tips for those of us who are not that great?


LET'S SEE A PHOTO OF YOUR CHORD MANAGEMENT SKILLS!

image via @Kuub
Component Cluster.jpg
 

jhuntstl

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 21, 2021
Messages
384
Reaction score
610
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
St. Louis
Man I tried and had it all looking great on initial install. Then come a few upgrades and equipment failures and pulling all cords out to figure out what’s what. Definitely takes some dedication.
This is the real challenge.

While 90% of the rats nest of wires is contained within my door, I've let the inside of the cabinet go. I've added new hardware that I've yet to integrate into the cabinet. It's a lot of work!
pxl_20210911_142134409-mp-jpg.2335792
 

Vyper

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
203
Reaction score
185
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Granby
This is the real challenge.

While 90% of the rats nest of wires is contained within my door, I've let the inside of the cabinet go. I've added new hardware that I've yet to integrate into the cabinet. It's a lot of work!
pxl_20210911_142134409-mp-jpg.2335792
That looks great. I feel the pain every time I change anything. Lots of wires to dig through. I have come to learn that nothing will ever stay the same either as I constantly make changes for whatever reason.
 

randalli

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 7, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
72
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Germany
It's really a fight against windmills for me. I try to keep cables as neat as possible. What really makes it hard for me is that basically no cable has the perfect length to install it in a neat way. Also once some setup changes for whatever reason one might need some space and the current cable layout might become obsolete. For my music studio I sometimes just rewire the whole dang thing which takes like a full day or longer but for a system that should not be shutdown for too long this is impossibru. Usually entropy takes over after some time.
 

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
6,813
Reaction score
10,036
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Way upstate NY
I purposely made my stand larger to house all the equipment, and rats nests of wires. I just close that door, and viola, it disappears!

I tried keeping it all tidy, but then came a few upgrades, needed new pumps, etc. And the rats nest ensued.
 

Glenner’sreef

1968 - 2021 definitely “HOOKED”
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
1,061
Reaction score
3,623
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
ARIZONA
I want it clean and organized. Tank stands are like laundry baskets. Instead of clothes scattered all over the house, they’re in one place where no one sees them. Not happy about it but guilty.
 

sp1187

The Great Enabler
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
9,727
Reaction score
49,774
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Grand Blanc MI
i don't care as it's all behind the scenes in the fish room.
i'm bamboozled though with people that go to that extent to keep the equipment looking tidy, but then have wave makers, overflows and heaters visible in their tank. :rolleyes:
 

kittenbritches

The Cat's Pajamas
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 18, 2021
Messages
664
Reaction score
2,102
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Rocky Mountains
I have all of my cords labeled and tangle-free. I will be swapping some to another power strip shortly, and then will clip them all up as out of sight as possible. I don't have a cabinet stand and it's open underneath. I'm also constructing shelving and a back mounting wall within the stand for greater storage, functionality, and hiding the wire mess!
 

Gtinnel

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
3,321
Reaction score
4,453
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Charleston, WV
I'm always amazed and impressed with the people whose equipment and wiring under the stand is neat. That however is not me. Under my tank is a rats nest of wires and tubes, I wish mine were neater looking but anytime I've decided to try and tidy it up, by the time I'm done I give up and it's no better looking. The key for me is to always keep the doors to my stand shut and not post pictures of it online.
 

PeterC99

2500 Club Member
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
2,982
Reaction score
12,242
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Location
White Plains, NY
For me it’s always a “work in progress”. Cable management never rests - cords always moving for cleaning equipment, new equipment replacing old, and for the modifications.
 

Quietman

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
2,750
Reaction score
10,286
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Indiana - born and bred
Like others I have no problems getting it to look good. I have a separate cabinet attached with everything logically laid out. Once I set it up it looked great and ready for pictures. Problem I have is anytime I do anything with the equipment (remove, maintenance, add) it doesn't exactly become a rats nest, but it doesn't look clean and neat. I had thought I had planned for ease of maintenance but evidently not. My next iteration is going to focus less on one location to having a central power hub area and then the pump/skimmer/powerhead connections higher (wall mount?) so when I do maintenance, I don't have to touch the central area and the local controllers are much easier to access.
 

burningmime

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
550
Reaction score
766
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Montana
I bought one of those adaptive reef controller board things. But I didn't add hinges to it (really should come with them), so it's pretty much impossible to rewire without taking it apart. Hence...

1632144015397.png


Luckily, this is in my basement, so the display looks clean. And usually it's slightly better than this; right now I have a bunch of stuff unplugged since I'm establishing some bacterial cultures.
 
NY
Top