Co2 scrubber help

Ecotech Marine

mitch91175

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
2,168
Location
Rowlett, TX
Just did the same thing myself and I have never seen 8.2 pH EVER!

upload_2018-2-27_15-16-8.png


Can you guess when it was installed?
 
Corals.com

Hughesy

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
3
Yes that should be fine. If you let the media dry it should be ok as well

I have easy access to outside air being in my basement. All I did was connect an air line to the top of the redtube silencer.


Skimmer1.jpg
Hi Fudsey, sorry to bother you.. What fitting did you use here to connect the airline to the top of silencer on the red tube?

Many thanks in advance!
 

Fudsey

Jack of all trades, Master of none ;-)
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2016
Messages
9,800
Reaction score
47,801
Location
So. New Hampshire
It is an airline extender that I had. Fits right inside the hole on the top of the silencer

@Hughesy it looks like this but mine is red

Capture.JPG
 
Last edited:
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

Jackooze

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
213
Reaction score
69
Location
Manalapan, NJ
Yes that should be fine. If you let the media dry it should be ok as well

I have easy access to outside air being in my basement. All I did was connect an air line to the top of the redtube silencer.


Skimmer1.jpg

I know this is an old post. What size connection did you use to fit inside the whole ?
 

Lucasuka5006011

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 1, 2020
Messages
170
Reaction score
134
Location
Miami
Hey, I know this is an old post but I see one line connects to the octo 110ss , what abo it the other line ? Does it just stay outside of the sump ? Does it go back in the water ?
 

mitch91175

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
2,168
Location
Rowlett, TX
Hey, I know this is an old post but I see one line connects to the octo 110ss , what abo it the other line ? Does it just stay outside of the sump ? Does it go back in the water ?


Are you running the line outside? If so then pull in outside air from the input and have the output connected to the skimmer pump.

If you are not running it outside you can connect the inlet to your skimmer cup just to keep the media slightly moist but not wet. Condensation will build so you will need to have a collection container to trap any water before it gets to the media (between the skimmer cup and the output of the CO2 scrubber).

I run mine circulated like above and my media last me forever.
 
Maxout

Lucasuka5006011

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 1, 2020
Messages
170
Reaction score
134
Location
Miami
Are you running the line outside? If so then pull in outside air from the input and have the output connected to the skimmer pump.

If you are not running it outside you can connect the inlet to your skimmer cup just to keep the media slightly moist but not wet. Condensation will build so you will need to have a collection container to trap any water before it gets to the media (between the skimmer cup and the output of the CO2 scrubber).

I run mine circulated like above and my media last me forever.
Could you post some photos of your set up ? I’m trying to see what you mean by the collection container
 

MarshMay

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 23, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
Yes that should be fine. If you let the media dry it should be ok as well

I have easy access to outside air being in my basement. All I did was connect an air line to the top of the redtube silencer.


Skimmer1.jpg
Where did you get that red part to connect through the silencer?
 

BoxKing

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
149
Location
Philadelphia
This Is not a good example of how to run a recirculating CO2/Skimmer setup, especially when you have a float switch cutoff controller through the Various Controller. Why would you place the return air inlet in the center To allow it to suck up Skim?? The obvious option would have been to drill the hole outside of the inner lip on the underside of the lid, which would never pull up skim unless your float switch failed you. All you did was create more work for yourself by adding another cup to clean.

I for one found my PH dropped when I added a recirculating line from the lid, and now I resort on the moisture coming from the sump itself, which is more than enough.
 
First Choice
Subscribe to ReefStache so you don't miss out!
Top