Co2 Scrubber issues and proper use questions

m.kristoff

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
I am new to Scrubbers and ran across a pretty big issue.

I have a BRS scrubber using BRS media. I have a Reef Octo 200EXT skimmer. I started using the scrubber with it drawing outside air. I did see a modest PH increase to maybe 8.05 - 8.1. from was around 7.7 - 8.0 without it. I read several articles about setting it up to recirculate. I attached the intake to my skimmer cup and my PH almost immediately jumped up to a low of 8.05 at night and 8.2 during the day. That turned out to be too rapid of a change and the few small sps frags I have started to RTN. All my euphyllia are fine and looked great.

I have an Alkatronic that measures 4 times a day and my average dkh is between 9.19 to 9.4 consistently with dosing 1500ml of kalk over 24 hours. The tank was very stable.
I noticed that my DKH was creeping up and is at a high of 9.77
1652454978748.png

I also noticed a decline in my PH so I looked at the scrubber. I found that that container filled about a 1/4 with water and the media got wet. The weather in Ohio changed to the 80's and the humidity in my skimmer increased. I use the BRS media which is Soda Ash. BRS told me that it was basically pelletized Kalk. That explained why my DKH is going up and my pH was dropping. I have turned off the Kalk dosing until the DKH drops back down.

My questions are.
1. want is the optimal way to run a scrubber? outside air only or recirculate? should i consider a "pre chamber" to collect the humidity before it hits the media?
2. how do I ease my system into the higher PH so I don't have stability issues
3. with my nighttime lows of 7.7 and day time highs of 7.8 - 8.0 pH should I even bother with a scrubber?

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to Scrubbers and ran across a pretty big issue.