Complete Beginner To Saltwater

The Fry

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey im looking forward to getting a saltwater tank! I want to get a 10 gallon as i dont want to go big and potentially lose everything as i have no experience with saltwater at all. These are the questions i really need answered along with this please also share ur thoughts and advice for a beginner! PS i have had freshwater fish in the past so im not a beginner to fishkeeping as a whole! Ive had oscars, Flowerhorns, pacus, catfish etc!

1. What Fish can i keep in a 10 gallon? i was thinking 2 Percula Clowns. From my limited knowledge of saltwater all i know is i cant keep maroon clowns
  2. Will i need a sump? or is it not needed for a 10 gal?
  3. How do i cycle a saltwater tank and how long to cycle for? Before this its my dad who has cycled my tanks for me... now im doing it on my own so i have no clue as to what i should do
  4. What kind of a tank is best? Acrylic or Glass?
  5. How many water changes a week depending on the fish?
  6. How do i check if my saltwater's salinity is right and how do i maintain it to be perfect?
  7. And how to get the proper saltwater?
  8. What kind of a filter do i need?
  9. What lights do i need? and should my lights be on at all times?
  10. How expensive will it be to maintain?
  11. What tools will i need to take care of the pH, salinity etc
  12. How cold/warm should the water be for the perculas?
  13. Which are smaller? The false percula or the true percula?
  14. I dont want to grow corals. A few rocks, black background... Also should i get substrate or sand?
  15. Could I keep an anemone and are they compulsory for clowns?
  16. Please just tell me about anything i missed and how to solve it please