FrozenFishSticks

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey what’s up everyone, I’m relatively new to the hobby and needed suggestions on a new tank I’m currently planning. I currently have a 10, 20, (2) 30’s, 45, 55 and a 75 gallon already setup. As I was browsing the deep dark web (just kidding) I came across a couple of tanks that were close to my price range. Most of the tanks had the measurements or size included in the post……..except 1. I messaged all the sellers with my offers and surprisingly got answers back from all of them. Since they all answered I had to really put some pressure on the sellers with some annoying but reasonable questions. Ex. How old is the tank? How are the silicone seams? Was it saltwater or freshwater? Does it leak? You get the picture of the types of questions. After getting the answers it was finally the hard part, making the decision. So initially I was looking for anything bigger than the current 75 gallon I have. My goal was a 125 or 150. (I might have tried to lowball a couple people who were selling a 180 or 220 haha no shame here) Okay so one of the listings just kept catching my eyes, I now know why. I’m probably the worst at guessing the size of a tank from a picture with no reference points to gauge the size. This is important because remember when I said one listing didn’t have the tank size and the seller didn’t know it either. I ended up making a lower offer based on the limited knowledge I had at the time. The offer was $200 if I came to pickup the same day. (By the way that is the best way to get people to accept lower than normal offers) The seller immediately accepted the offer, so at that point I was committed to that tank because of the price alone. At this point I’m super excited, I didn’t know the size of the tank but knew it was bigger than my 75 and looked like a 125 or 150 to me. (Amateur) As I was preparing the uhaul rental the seller messaged me and said btw your going to need like 5 guys to move