Cycle Question

fpotter15028

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok everyone. Sorry to probably post a recuring question. Ive looked through some of the previous threads for some answers. But didn't really see anything. So Im posting for the pros lol

Ok Im very new to this hobby and I'm starting from scratch. I my system is 116 gallon total with sum and display. I started with completely dry rock and sand and using RODI water. Salinity is 35 ppt.

Im attempting the Brightwell Dry Rock starter system and am currently on day 6. So my question is. I followed the instructions and tested my ammonia (2 ppm) on day one. now Im on day 6. My Nitrite is 0.25 ppm, Nitrate is 10 ppm. But my ammonia is still 2 ppm. How can the tank be starting to break it down, but still be the same level? Do I just continue on? or do you have any recomendations? Slightly confused and looking for direction.

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This one is easy: fall back on known and established submersion date times vs parameter concerns. The test kits you’re using may or may not be right, searches show, and that bottle bac isn’t as well tested as Dr Tims / biospira / Fritz, so you’d hedge up the number of days wait in response

And you’ll have an exact date you can begin.

the recommended formula for wait time finishing your cycle, given the additives, is wait fifteen days and it’s ready. Change water and begin on day fifteen of wait, you paid money to speed up the common 30 day cycle so this is no brave move it’s specific based on bac and feed you added.

it’s not about moving params up and down until you’re on test kits known to misread the least vs the most