Cycle question

dieselgoose

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
75g with 60lbs dry and 15lbs live rock. Used fritz and 2 clowns. Using the master test. Starting the cycle only 9 days ago. So the problem is that ofcourse my ammonia came up fast and furious and seems to be holding at at .50. All good right. Well I never seen any nitrites then today all of a sudden my nitrates are at 20ppm. So is this normal with fritz? I have never used it before.

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Has nothing to do with the salt brand. It's your ammonia converting to nitrite then nitrate and just builds because you don't have anything to export the nitrate yet besides water changes. That system happens deep in oxygen poor areas of your rocks and takes months to start working and years to be efficient.

Expect an algae bloom soon and if you have a refugium, fill it with cheato if you want to limit the tank uglies

OP
OP
D

dieselgoose

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have kept the lights off from the start. My question is really about a water change for the clowns safety? Would it it be safe to assume that with the fritz the table cycled that fast?

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have kept the lights off from the start. My question is really about a water change for the clowns safety? Would it it be safe to assume that with the fritz the table cycled that fast?
Your cycle is not done until ammonia and nitrite are both consistently zero.

This just means the cycle is progressing and you are beginning to stabilize.

OP
OP
D

dieselgoose

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That’s what I’m thinking but the not seeing the nitrites had me scratching my head. To go straight from ammonia to nitrates in 9 days is confusing to me lol.

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish