Decisions, Decisions, Decisions, Part 2

Nep2nRevision3

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
With my old 120g tank that was mostly sps corals I was selling a lot of frags. Every so often somebody fairly new would come over to buy a frag or two and they would see the tank and start in on all the questions. Personally, I love talking about the hobby because I struggled more than I was really comfortable with back when I started. And anything I can do to help others deal with costs and curveballs this hobby can throw at you, I'm happy to try and help. That's why this is going to be a series of about 20 articles hopefully at the rate of about one per week.

Absolutely enjoy talking reef. Usually the person asking questions gets tired of asking long before I get tired of talking. I've helped numerous friends/friends of friends over the years set up tanks (I'm a plumber by trade, just seems to go hand in hand) and learn the basics of testing and maintaining.

I guess I was alluding more to the question of cost as you address here. So many variables, really no way to tell someone what "their" tank will ultimately cost based on the decisions they make.

I look forward to your series.

OP
OP
Ron Reefman

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Thanks, I look forward to many more entertaining discussions. And I didn't realize that I would get a social improvement in my life when I started this hobby. What a bonus!

You are right about the costs. Just try and do a quality flow chart for a newbie reefer. You get in a few steps and the chart starts going all over the place and one early move can have indirect consequences that prohibit your ability to do something else you might want to do downstream without a significant rebuild!