Digital Input - PL-ADIN card Usage Example

Discussion in 'GHL Advanced Technology' started by Marco@GHLUSA, Nov 12, 2016.

  1. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Let's talk about Analog & Digital Inputs.
    What are they, and what can you do with them?

    First things first - the name of the card.
    Analog
    Digital
    INput

    This topic comes up from time to time, looking to implement an extra Float switch, a relay, a manual switch or button to trigger actions etc.

    This is where the PLM-ADIN ad-on card comes in handy. Looks daunting? It's not. It's actually simple as Pie - let me show you.

    When you order the Add-In card, the following will arrive.
    [​IMG]

    You ask how do you connect that to your fancy gadgets? Well you probably have a bare wire. There are a few options, the one I personally prefer...
    Amazon - DB9 Terminal Adapter - $6.99

    [​IMG]

    Now you have a terminal block to connect your sensor/switch wires. Simple.


    Last night I automated my cabinet lights.



    I grabbed a set of Magnetic contact switches:
    [​IMG]

    Alarm contact switches - $15 for a set of 10

    For the left 2 doors, I used one each, and wired them in series. For the right Door, I used a single.

    Here is a wiring diagram. (not mine)
    [​IMG]

    I ran both circuits of magnetic contacts to the common GND terminal, pin/post #8
    Circuit 1, I ran to DIGITAL INPUT #1 - Pin/Post #2
    Circuit 2, I ran to DIGITAL INPUT #2 - Pin/Post #3

    Let's program GCC:

    1. Verify Digital Inputs are responding, and name them:
    [​IMG]

    2. Assign DI's to outlets - in this case, make sure to select INVERTED.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2016
    Elder1945 likes this.
    Tags:

  2. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Let's place a float switch in our skimmer cup, and have it turn off the skimmer when float switch is UP.

    [​IMG]


    In my example, I still use the same DB9 connector setup as shown above for simple pinout terminal.

    I picked up a slim, low profile float switch from Madison; model M3326: LINK: Here - amazon

    [​IMG]

    I also purchased a 6-ft. mono 1/8” mini plug to mono 1/8” mini jack shielded cable from Radio Shack as an extension w/ Quick Disconnect for the float. LINK: Here - Radio Shack

    [​IMG]

    I cut the cable about 8" from the plug side, stripped and soldered the wires. Since we recently moved, I couldn't locate all of my supplies, so white liquid electrical tape had to to, one of these days I'll re-splice and clean it up with heatshrink.

    I wired the Float Switch to the common GND terminal, pin/post #8
    And to DIGITAL INPUT #3 - Pin/Post #4


    Programming:
    1. Enter GCC, and Verify Digital Input #3 (or whichever you place it on) is responding/reading. Also name it?

    [​IMG]

    2. Define a program.
    a. In my case, I delay my skimmer return on feed cycle, and some other items, as such we're going to use Programmable Logic to join a couple of statements. Pretty simple.

    Programmable Logic Manual: https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/download/get/file/Programmable-Logic-Instructions.pdf

    [​IMG]

    Here we are going to say in G7 - If G4 AND DI3 then enable the outlet
    The AND-function needs 2 inputs. The output is only ON if both inputs are ON

    3. Assign the program to the outlet.
    Select Programmable Logic #(in my case 7 - for G7 used.)
    [​IMG]


    Let me know if you have any questions - be glad to answer or help you out with your specific setup.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2016
    Elder1945 and Jerel like this.
  3. Rogger Castells

    Rogger Castells Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Weston, FL
    Nice, looks like the possibilities are endless with this type of connection.
     
    Marco@GHLUSA likes this.
  4. Jerel

    Jerel Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Upper Marlboro, Maryland
    Once i get around to replacing my ProfiLux 3.1t for a ProfiLux 4. I am looking to use the 3.1 for my utility fish room. A PL-ADIN card will be useful to aid my Avast Marine Barrel Tender V2.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    I'm waiting for mine... should be here next week.
    Did you get yours with the "apex integration" ?
    Do you mind posting a close up of the interface they provide?
     
  6. Jerel

    Jerel Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Upper Marlboro, Maryland
    Nice! I ordered the supposed apex integration version, but given the bare wire interface. I believe it will be fairly simple to function by the ProfiLux.

    Black wire- Common
    White wire- Low level sensor
    Red wire- High level sensor

    Here is the programming guide manual. https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0872/1966/files/Barrel-Tender_v2.pdf?10155816140178378802
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2016
  7. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Yes, this will be a simple hookup. That is what I was hoping for. I'll reach out to Avast and advise that it's not just Apex compatible, but GHL compatible as well.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2017
    Jerel likes this.
  8. Jerel

    Jerel Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Upper Marlboro, Maryland
    Lol.. You know what.. I was even more shocked to see that they have removed ProfiLux compatibility from their selection of Top-Off kits. I bought one a few years back with a PS/2 interface connection. GRRRRRR!
     
  9. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Carribean
    Hi all , question ..... Which pin on the connector cable is #1 ?
     
  10. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Carribean
    Also , how many inputs does each card provide ?
     
  11. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Pin #1 of course :p
    The pins are labeled on the included adapter, and if you purcahse a DB9-terminal like above, they are labeled on the terminal block as well. :)

    2 analog & 4 digital.
    2 inputs can read voltage, from devices that would provide feedback in variable low voltage.
    4 digital - open/close circuits like switches, floatswitches, relays etc. There is a common, and 4 individual inputs.
     
  12. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Carribean
    Thanks Marco , Just ordered one along with an expansion box ! Ill be leaving the 4 spaces in the expansion box open for my Ca an Alk cards !:D
     
    Jerel and Marco@GHLUSA like this.
  13. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Showed up today. Good deal.
     
    Jerel likes this.
  14. Jerel

    Jerel Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Upper Marlboro, Maryland
    Definitely a good deal !
     
  15. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    I've had a chance to add the Barrel Tender v2 from Avast Marine to my P3 setup. This will allow me to fill my water barrel when empty, and once again run down until empty, before kicking back on. Avoid short cycles of the RODI.

    My configuration below, you may have to adjust for your setup. Please don't hesitate to ask if you have questions, or need clarification.

    Wires to my Terminal adapter:
    White - Low (Pin 3)
    Red - High (Pin 4)
    Black - Common (Pin 8)


    Programmable Logic:
    Gate 10:
    Input 1: DI 3 *INVERTED*
    Input 2: DI 4 *INVERTED*
    Function: SR-FlipFlop


    Switch Channels & outlets:
    S5: Function: Programmable Logic: 10

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
    reefwiser likes this.
  16. AVAST Marine

    AVAST Marine Active Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    59
    The current switch named the "Cerebra" is compatible with the ProfiLux unit. We will rename it though so it is less confusing. Of course the "bare wire" option is compatible as well using the ADIN. Great to see USA support for the GHL units and these examples are really nice!
     
    WWIII, Jerel and reefwiser like this.
  17. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Carribean
    Hi, I installed my card but it's not visible in the GCC software, did I do something wrong? I installed the card first thing before ever powering up the P4 and all the pins are securely in the sockets.
     
  18. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    The ADIN card will be visible in a firmware update coming shortly.
     
    Jerel likes this.
  19. Jerel

    Jerel Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Upper Marlboro, Maryland
    ...
     
  20. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Carribean
    Would this affect my power bars also? All three are mirroring each other.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...