Digital Input - PL-ADIN card Usage Example

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Support@GHLUSA

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
614
Reaction score
418
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let's talk about Analog & Digital Inputs.
What are they, and what can you do with them?

First things first - the name of the card.
Analog
Digital
INput

This topic comes up from time to time, looking to implement an extra Float switch, a relay, a manual switch or button to trigger actions etc.

This is where the PLM-ADIN ad-on card comes in handy. Looks daunting? It's not. It's actually simple as Pie - let me show you.

When you order the Add-In card, the following will arrive.
PLM-ADIN-595x595.jpg


You ask how do you connect that to your fancy gadgets? Well you probably have a bare wire. There are a few options, the one I personally prefer...
Amazon - DB9 Terminal Adapter - $6.99

41LaF46fUQL.jpg


Now you have a terminal block to connect your sensor/switch wires. Simple.


Last night I automated my cabinet lights.



I grabbed a set of Magnetic contact switches:
41V6yRDdPrL.jpg


Alarm contact switches - $15 for a set of 10

For the left 2 doors, I used one each, and wired them in series. For the right Door, I used a single.

Here is a wiring diagram. (not mine)
plm-admin.gif


I ran both circuits of magnetic contacts to the common GND terminal, pin/post #8
Circuit 1, I ran to DIGITAL INPUT #1 - Pin/Post #2
Circuit 2, I ran to DIGITAL INPUT #2 - Pin/Post #3

Let's program GCC:

1. Verify Digital Inputs are responding, and name them:
11.12.2016-10.16.png


2. Assign DI's to outlets - in this case, make sure to select INVERTED.
11.12.2016-10.18.png
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
Support@GHLUSA

Support@GHLUSA

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
614
Reaction score
418
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let's place a float switch in our skimmer cup, and have it turn off the skimmer when float switch is UP.

7c704b495d02ba7685411659c40d5656.jpg



In my example, I still use the same DB9 connector setup as shown above for simple pinout terminal.

I picked up a slim, low profile float switch from Madison; model M3326: LINK: Here - amazon

51PXYm1GklL._AC_UL160_SR160,160_.jpg


I also purchased a 6-ft. mono 1/8” mini plug to mono 1/8” mini jack shielded cable from Radio Shack as an extension w/ Quick Disconnect for the float. LINK: Here - Radio Shack

04202472_00_f1860641-b429-4af0-b21a-8daf9784f0fa_160x160_crop_center.progressive.jpg


I cut the cable about 8" from the plug side, stripped and soldered the wires. Since we recently moved, I couldn't locate all of my supplies, so white liquid electrical tape had to to, one of these days I'll re-splice and clean it up with heatshrink.

I wired the Float Switch to the common GND terminal, pin/post #8
And to DIGITAL INPUT #3 - Pin/Post #4


Programming:
1. Enter GCC, and Verify Digital Input #3 (or whichever you place it on) is responding/reading. Also name it?

11.12.2016-09.52.png


2. Define a program.
a. In my case, I delay my skimmer return on feed cycle, and some other items, as such we're going to use Programmable Logic to join a couple of statements. Pretty simple.

Programmable Logic Manual: https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/download/get/file/Programmable-Logic-Instructions.pdf

11.12.2016-09.57.png


Here we are going to say in G7 - If G4 AND DI3 then enable the outlet
The AND-function needs 2 inputs. The output is only ON if both inputs are ON

3. Assign the program to the outlet.
Select Programmable Logic #(in my case 7 - for G7 used.)
11.12.2016-10.04.png



Let me know if you have any questions - be glad to answer or help you out with your specific setup.
 
Last edited:

Jerel

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
Messages
285
Reaction score
178
Location
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Once i get around to replacing my ProfiLux 3.1t for a ProfiLux 4. I am looking to use the 3.1 for my utility fish room. A PL-ADIN card will be useful to aid my Avast Marine Barrel Tender V2.

NieyEg7JOJezuJrdvI4zGMG7rh3AyK767ZkpT8mgbgW_qsuy-cCFAE7gs3YVVFL-uKnf3VX2ArNiGSAD9ycqs9GR4nBw2Im8ELmZ4m_jujIVdgmpanJz80TzVv4FPlAbZ_8kClchpgwOPnaiYbPdet28zmkmHG4A-Il6wLRKUo9WPf4r45Dd8jucR_8dXQmZYR_79uPcX9KMr3LRj6qapuvwzcYI25wsFl9V9VnXlRl_5R9vFZ59ZiDlReAutgztayLwfdUVSY5jd3Lxo-Y2g7kPgev5RDMsLlLzGgvWTRGc6Xb1Qp3lZM44Z6tINls-4N1OpFU1NLWNiYjgFpF4owhycX7rmatG1Igf8PFJ7EhfViocajf1sn74kgMCfQzrF0jD85KjvcVQLzEqGXXUr4A0yvILmtuR3bkXNw27IQU3ihGl5ULLmYcTPz7n7UHWFz5j0FxSRwkPJU7aavMNtPSmz0_pFgwqCfMyx82lPDzk_bJlms3aab0Zdzd6Xwt8eO6Lgbxf2eRcNCNqe1vshJmoZSMNPfkfdxkpHfm4WGUuaq2k0_JMXb3slhAz70DvE9Hl65kqxQHPBrglPIHHomBer1I10HXFhRU55gtd0ews_QVJSGQw=w713-h950-no
 
OP
OP
Support@GHLUSA

Support@GHLUSA

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
614
Reaction score
418
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm waiting for mine... should be here next week.
Did you get yours with the "apex integration" ?
Do you mind posting a close up of the interface they provide?
 

Jerel

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
Messages
285
Reaction score
178
Location
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm waiting for mine... should be here next week.
Did you get yours with the "apex integration" ?
Do you mind posting a close up of the interface they provide?

Nice! I ordered the supposed apex integration version, but given the bare wire interface. I believe it will be fairly simple to function by the ProfiLux.

Black wire- Common
White wire- Low level sensor
Red wire- High level sensor

Here is the programming guide manual. https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0872/1966/files/Barrel-Tender_v2.pdf?10155816140178378802
VrOKzA6BnbUs81t7C4noTFBffORnLWJ9HfZDwe1Tv4UW1D8f6M8RA1XbqFvOqG4CknoVJNZD3zieSCbdl93LQFExjqnYbznHxTmq_OV0iZdhDZfn-CdUcROE-4x5dfloWlXhyVX_83orne41Emf3J4zgCLX26E9tCC626NqL6mBCD0hIcxPE2K0I3H-61XSYcF4eIgE8Y5yIZJekcgL0WV_sJLJFZX13wcFy_Ym0j6c1-xjUUywW5SZ2U_mQ0PVVHmHpLledthJ_cd0_rhj3KHG9J5yMekCpzCSJIDz2bgL5ktqSqWjdgO6-DiE9cmpbys2ZUs_1h3xw1JI0edbsyjybonxcjadvkoqHrJRU9ykDe7hdJpdhNjybx_jt34_96RQD4h8Im76UYbcgo592S5Kg2D2XvvtcrqtDMAmo9sEzbhnci52tWETITKUYaZtdbRXWNSRZcPezyjF9w9VeQexeD5g5Wx2VEYJqgsAkcnAwVox-l4KUQILsdpClCCkVoq_r4wzYvAG5kFfA0mEPHgSZSG2rDzSVHUxqIyevnB1yHyE95wmfS44dY2YERpY6p1dhuAqVbtUnnETnRB4fAP_5noGn8ZBsEWLOrbPO1kSRiSrqe3Ct=w713-h950-no
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
Support@GHLUSA

Support@GHLUSA

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
614
Reaction score
418
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, this will be a simple hookup. That is what I was hoping for. I'll reach out to Avast and advise that it's not just Apex compatible, but GHL compatible as well.
 
Last edited:

Jerel

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
Messages
285
Reaction score
178
Location
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, this will be a simple hookup. That is what I was hoping for. Maybe we should contact them and advise that it's not just Apex compatible ;)

Lol.. You know what.. I was even more shocked to see that they have removed ProfiLux compatibility from their selection of Top-Off kits. I bought one a few years back with a PS/2 interface connection. GRRRRRR!
 
OP
OP
Support@GHLUSA

Support@GHLUSA

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
614
Reaction score
418
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all , question ..... Which pin on the connector cable is #1 ?
Pin #1 of course :p
The pins are labeled on the included adapter, and if you purcahse a DB9-terminal like above, they are labeled on the terminal block as well. :)

Also , how many inputs does each card provide ?
2 analog & 4 digital.
2 inputs can read voltage, from devices that would provide feedback in variable low voltage.
4 digital - open/close circuits like switches, floatswitches, relays etc. There is a common, and 4 individual inputs.
 
OP
OP
Support@GHLUSA

Support@GHLUSA

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
614
Reaction score
418
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've had a chance to add the Barrel Tender v2 from Avast Marine to my P3 setup. This will allow me to fill my water barrel when empty, and once again run down until empty, before kicking back on. Avoid short cycles of the RODI.

My configuration below, you may have to adjust for your setup. Please don't hesitate to ask if you have questions, or need clarification.

Wires to my Terminal adapter:
White - Low (Pin 3)
Red - High (Pin 4)
Black - Common (Pin 8)


Programmable Logic:
Gate 10:
SET (Input 1): DI 3
RESET (Input 2): DI 4 *INVERTED*
Function: SR-FlipFlop


Switch Channels & outlets:
S5: Function: Programmable Logic: 10

01.01.2017-16.42.png


(Picture below shows Input 1 as Inverted - this is INCORRECT!)
01.02.2017-10.03.png


01.01.2017-16.46.png
 
Last edited:

AVAST Marine

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
464
Reaction score
245
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lol.. You know what.. I was even more shocked to see that they have removed ProfiLux compatibility from their selection of Top-Off kits. I bought one a few years back with a PS/2 interface connection. GRRRRRR!

The current switch named the "Cerebra" is compatible with the ProfiLux unit. We will rename it though so it is less confusing. Of course the "bare wire" option is compatible as well using the ADIN. Great to see USA support for the GHL units and these examples are really nice!
 

Dumaurier7

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
760
Reaction score
276
Location
Carribean
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I installed my card but it's not visible in the GCC software, did I do something wrong? I installed the card first thing before ever powering up the P4 and all the pins are securely in the sockets.
 
Back
Top