DIM4 Controller for DIY LED Lighting

Onedesign1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I couldn't find a product review forum but since this is specifically for use with DIY LED builds I figure I would post it here. If it would be better in another place let me know.

For folks that have built fixtures and would like to be able to program the lighting schedules, sunrise/sunset, drive fans, switch the drivers on and off rather than using timers, and do not have or use their aquarium controller for this purpose I found this nice product and thought I would share my thoughts and make others aware of it. I have been using 2 of these for several months and cannot be happier. Its call the DIM4 and costs $79. Here's an overview for anyone interested:

This little guy packs a nice set of features, is much less costly than a full blown controller, and is specifically designed for those of us who have built our own LED fixtures and used dimming type drivers but have no way to automate the lighting schedule.

The DIM4

DIM4.jpg

The DIM4 has 4 channels of programmable output to control drivers such as the Meanwell ELN or HLG lines. Its output is 0-10V analog dimming so the drivers cannot be PWM dimming type...I believe inventronics has analog dimming as well. Each channel also has the ability to direct drive 3 or 4 LEDs up to 500ma...so think moonlighting or even a nano tank setup. Finally channels 1 and 3 have relay outputs (right side of the board). As soon as channel 1 or 3 turn on per your programmed schedule the relay outputs turn on and put out 12V. I'll describe how I use these in a minute.

Programming is very simple with 3 buttons at the bottom of the board. Select takes you to Set Time and then each Channel parameters which is also very simple. Once you set the time you push the select button and you are on channel 1.

Each channel then has 5 settings:
Max drive - max output to your driver dimming circuit. ie 0-10V