Dino Battle Question

testuser

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All, I've been battling dinos for a couple of months now in my 4.8g tank and am in a position to be a bit more aggressive now that I am starting from a clean slate with no corals currently in the tank. I tried the BRS suggested method with a 4 day blackout and with Dr. Tim's Re-Fresh and Waste Away (https://s3.amazonaws.com/brsinstructions/brsDrTims/DrTims_Dinoflagellate_Recipe_BRS.pdf).

Unfortunately, during the Waste Away dosing, the sand started to get brown again and I saw small, brown stringy-like things again on both the sand and the rock that blew away easily with a turkey baster. Though I guess what's strange is that they would not disappear at night (possibly because it's such a small tank).

What would the next move here be? Repeat the process again? I've also read suggestions of raising the temperature to 83F for a few days and I am down for that if it's a sound choice.

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If it's only 4.8 gallons then rip clean is your best option but you need to identify the source of your dinos so you don't make the same mistake again. Technically dinos need to be positive ID via microscope too.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Hi All, I've been battling dinos for a couple of months now in my 4.8g tank and am in a position to be a bit more aggressive now that I am starting from a clean slate with no corals currently in the tank. I tried the BRS suggested method with a 4 day blackout and with Dr. Tim's Re-Fresh and Waste Away (https://s3.amazonaws.com/brsinstructions/brsDrTims/DrTims_Dinoflagellate_Recipe_BRS.pdf).