Dino ID

monfilsi

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone,

So microscope confirms that I have Dinos. Having a hard time doing a definitive ID. If it helps, they are toxic and have killed all my snails.

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-19 at 17.29.20_89c61196.jpg

Time to research how to get rid of them now.

saltyhog

blowing bubbles somewhere
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you have anymore pictures? Looks more like amphdinium to me. Would be surprised if that were the source of your snail losses though.

BradVol

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm an amateur but going through this myself, so take that into consideration. This guide is very helpful: https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/dinoflagellate-identification-guide.671466/

They don't seem to have the beak/mouth of amphidinium to me. They also don't seem to have the indention of prorocentrum, but that's a little harder to tell.

A couple of them spin like Ostreopsis, but not many. And I don't really see the pointed/colored tip to them, so I'm not sure there.

Ostreo would probably be the easiest to start getting results with. If someone more experienced doesn't have a more definitive ID maybe start with that. UV and 1W/3gal and some of the other tricks.

I definitely have ostreo right now. My current plan of attack is:
  • Stop water changes
  • UV at 1W/3gal going in today
  • Skimmer running, but only to aerate
  • Change filter floss daily and run GFO at a higher rate and change more often than normal
  • Significantly reduced photo period from 12 to 8 hours (4 of those hours being ramps)
  • Dosing nitrate and phosphate to target 10ppm/0.10ppm
  • After a couple days of that, likely going to use Dr Tim's Dino guide with Re-Fresh and Waste Away with a 3 day blackout

OP
OP
monfilsi

monfilsi

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is my plan to takle the dinos. Happy to get other suggestions and feedback.