DIY Food

Turbo's Aquatics

Super Duper Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Our club (Greater Iowa Reef Society) gets together twice a year and makes a batch of DIY Food. I've been organizing the event for the past 2 years or so and wanted to go ahead and post our recipe.

It is also maintained as a Resource on the Greater Iowa Reef Society Forum.

We've pretty much got this down to a science as far as the process goes, every time we refine it a bit (and get better at it). We just did one yesterday and we made 84 pounds in 2.5 hours from start to finish (that's walking in the door, to walking out the door).

Our sources:
  • Brine Shrimp Direct
  • Local Grocery store and/or Asian Market
  • Seafood Distributor - in our case, Great Midwest Seafood, a family owned seafood distributor in Eastern Iowa - who will deliver right to your door!
  • Drs. Foster & Smith
  • Premium Aquatics (or BRS, Champion Lighting, Marine Depot, etc)

Tools & Supplies needed:
  • Food processor, one that holds about 15 cups - the bigger the better, and not a cheesy cheap one. For a big batch, get 2, you will use them, or at least have a backup in case you smoke one
  • Do NOT use a blender - they just don't work well, and you will smoke it. We have.
  • 20g Keg Tub, or several 5g buckets (the latter being OK for smaller batches, but multiple buckets means equally splitting ingredients, which is a pain)
  • 1 Gallon freezer ziplock bags, heavy duty
  • 2 Gallon freezer ziplock bags (for thawing)
  • Heavy-duty corded Drill with 1/2" chuck (NOT a hammer drill, but that level of quality)
  • Drywall paddle mixer with 1/2" hex shaft (from Lowe's)
  • Several 1 gallon buckets
  • Large net (for straining)
  • Colander (plastic is fine)
  • Rags in a Box (Lowes)
  • Microfiber cloths
  • 18oz Solo Cups
  • Digital portion scale (we have 2)
  • 1 cup plastic measuring cups (2)
  • Rubber Spatulas
  • Rubber gloves (nitrile, no powder)