DIY Stand.. Do I need to worry about this?

cpark645

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello R2R,

I am totally new to woodworking, but I am thinking about building my own stand for a 48x24x16 setup. I know there's a ton of guides out there, but it seems one thing doesn't get mentioned too often..

Do I need to worry about the 2x4's being not perfectly square? I'm worried because I don't have a planar/jointer, I won't have perfectly square 2x4's which could throw off how square the whole stand is.

paphater

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just go through the wood piles and get the straightest pieces you can find and you'll be ok.

bobman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The tank must sit flat on the stand. If not it will cause stress on the glass and the tank will fail. I have made plenty of stands and I dont have a plainer. As long as you get the straightest boards you can it will be fine. Once complete run a credit card along the mating surfaces on the tank and stand it should not be able to fit in between the tank and stand

Billdogg

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would suggest using a piece of 3/4 plywood on top of the 2x4's. It will be flat so that you can easily see where the stand itself might not be. You can then insert shims as need before you fasten it down. Remember to use glues and screws, not just screws themselves during assemble. The screws are there more to hold it together while the glue dries than they are to provide structural support.

Follow the standard "Rocket Engineer" template and you will be fine.

trustmeimalawyer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0