Do I need wave makers?

Letta's Lettuce

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
New to saltwater but not to fishkeeping. Everything came together secondhand. I have:

Nuvo AIO 40 cube.
Jebao DC return pump (30w controller)
Aquashield 11w UV light
Aqua gadget SkimMate ghost skimmer midsize

I put in a Fluval prism 2.0 light just to start.

Been running about 4 months. Had 2 clowns for 2 months and just added a sifter goby, bi-colour Angel, and chocolate chip starfish. All were decided upon with help.

I have 2 Sicce voyager nano stream pump q Max 1000 L/h. I have not put these in yet because I have no idea what to do with them. Do I need them without coral? If I should use them, best positioning in tank?

Sorry for the horrible quality photo. I changed the colour of the light for the photo to help illuminate it more...

Thank you for any help!

1000006411.jpg

MoshJosh

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Honestly I am not a FOWLER expert, but I think the answer will be YES, you should have more flow than just the return pump. That being said the Sicce's you have are not exactly wavemakers (as least as I understand the term), they do not simulate wave movement by ramping up and down or starting and stopping, they just push water continuously. They are great pumps, I have a few running right now, but I prefer the flow created by "wavemakers". I THINK they are better and more natural for your tank inhabitants (though what is natural about a glass box).

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Personally I think flow is very important in a salt tank, and its often underestimated. We are replicating the ocean after all, not a pond or a stream. Even with fish only, rocks and flow are the biofilter. (google about 'the berlin method", this explains biofiltration in a salt tank)

Even my 15 gallon has 2 sicce voyager nano's.