Do you clean your Vectra pumps?

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

JoshH

Tank Status: Wet...ish, growing things....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't own one myself yet... but from all that I've read every 6 orso months is the norm for cleaning them with some benefits flow wise. Once again, no personal experience just working off all I've read about them...

Mario P.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I use 2 M1 vectra pumps and clean them every 6 months. I take apart the pump and soak the impeller in a 50/50 vinegar/hot water bath for 3-4 hours. Ive been using them for almost 3 years and they have been running fine.

OP
OP
Westside Guy

Westside Guy

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use 2 M1 vectra pumps and clean them every 6 months. I take apart the pump and soak the impeller in a 50/50 vinegar/hot water bath for 3-4 hours. Ive been using them for almost 3 years and they have been running fine.

I read in this thread that vinegar was a pump killer.

Mario P.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I read in this thread that vinegar was a pump killer.
I have heard the same but have no proof of any damage. I was told to use vinegar by an actual support person from Ecotech. That said, I do use citric acid for my MP40s because I usually soak them overnight and they are completely different from the vectras. They have an enclosed magnet in some thin plastic housing. I could imagine vinegar getting through that cover and causing the magnet to corrode.
I dont think a 50/50 vinegar soak for Vectra pump impellers for a few hours can do any damage.

OP
OP
Westside Guy

Westside Guy

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0