Dose or no dose

Steve1500

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am a newbie and my 75G tank was cycled a few weeks ago. Other than LR and Live sand, I have no livestock in the tank. I plan to start adding fish in a few weeks after I quarantine them. I will then add some softies and a few LPS after I get my fish situated. This should happen in about 3-4 months. I did a quick CA test about a week ago and it showed 330 ppm. I did not do an alkalinity test or Mg test, but I will. SG is 1.026 and Ph is about 8.2. Should I be monitoring and/or dosing my CA, alk and Mg (let's assume they are all low) now in prep for the fish or should I wait a few weeks before I add softies or LPS? How important are these elements to beginner fish like clowns, gobies, cardinals, kole tang, foxface lo or inverts?

Same question for my QT. I would assume I would want the same element levels in my QT, correct?

Finally, what is the best way to dose these elements if they are low. Will kalkwasser increase CA or Alk or just maintain?

Thanks in advance,
Steve

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am a newbie and my 75G tank was cycled a few weeks ago. Other than LR and Live sand, I have no livestock in the tank. I plan to start adding fish in a few weeks after I quarantine them. I will then add some softies and a few LPS after I get my fish situated. This should happen in about 3-4 months. I did a quick CA test about a week ago and it showed 330 ppm. I did not do an alkalinity test or Mg test, but I will. SG is 1.026 and Ph is about 8.2. Should I be monitoring and/or dosing my CA, alk and Mg (let's assume they are all low) now in prep for the fish or should I wait a few weeks before I add softies or LPS? How important are these elements to beginner fish like clowns, gobies, cardinals, kole tang, foxface lo or inverts?

Same question for my QT. I would assume I would want the same element levels in my QT, correct?