Dosing NeoPhos

tbrown

Nominated Cronie Intern - Might be failing?
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
I have been dosing NeoPhos for a couple of months. Recently I got gifted a Jebao doser and have been using that. I was hand dosing 10 ml daily (2 hand doses of 5 ml) so I setup the Jebao to dose 1 ml 10 times per day. My phosphates are staying very stable from day to day and hour to hour which is great. I'm doing from a 500 ml NeoPhos bottle that I refill from my bigger jug but it seems like the 500ish ml isn't lasting more than a month.

My question: if the bottle cap is off does the NeoPhos evaporate? And if it evaporates wouldn't it leave a more concentrated solution and cause my phosphates to rise?

Michael A Kurolvech

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have you figured it out? I agree it would evaporate, my only other question would be if the dosing pump is calibrated. My dosing pump for calcium and alkalinity is off I have to set one for 26 ml and the other pump for 28 ml daily to compensate for pumps being calibrated differently.

As far as increasing the concentration of the dose post evaporation i agree. Same as Salinity raising with evaporation. Maybe increasing tank consumption is matching the increased dosage but that's too much of a coincidence for me. LOL

I'm dosing 15ml of the NeoPhos and NeoNitro by hand. Might add pump in the future

Upvote 0
OP
OP
tbrown

tbrown

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Have you figured it out? I agree it would evaporate, my only other question would be if the dosing pump is calibrated. My dosing pump for calcium and alkalinity is off I have to set one for 26 ml and the other pump for 28 ml daily to compensate for pumps being calibrated differently.