Empror juvenile starting to fade.

SimonDM

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all.

I've purchased a juvenile empror 3 weeks ago now and he has been fine in my dt since having him. He's been eating fine until recently. He is still going to the frozen food and eating but he doesn't seem as eager.. he has a balanced diet of frozen foods including marine mixed and mysis shrimp.

Recently I have noticed his colour is starting to fade. He has no symptoms of ich or velvet. However I'm no expert in that field as I always qt my fish before going into the dt and my lfs is very good and always shows me the fish eating before selling to me.

I asked them for any ideas and they suspected ammo in the tank could cause this but I've checked and trippled checked with 0 every time.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

20210821_113003.jpg 20210821_112946.jpg

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, welcome to Reef2Reef!

Emperor angels often react to skin infections by fading color. This blotchy coloration is a common symptom they show to ich or flukes. If you are positive you cannot see any white ich spots, then I would say this is flukes.

If you aren’t sure if this is ich, you could try posting closer pictures taken under white light, and I might be able t

The best treatment for flukes would be Prazipro. Alternatively, you could go with hyposalinity for 35 days.

Jay

OP
OP
S

SimonDM

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Jay,

Thanks for the welcome! I've been meaning to join the community here for a while now.

I had a powder blue qt for ich a few weeks back. He unfortunately didn't recover. His white spots were easily diagnosed and I'm aware they are prone to ich etc.

Based on that I have experience with ich but I'm pretty sure I can't see any on my angel.

I have just fed them this morning with some frozen mysis which he had a good feed on.