Finally I'm back

adamg77

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I am finally back in the hobby! What started with leak testing a 10 gallon aquarium in the backyard which led to the wife approving a freshwater planted tank(went out and got a 20 gallon:beaming-face-with-smiling-eyes:). I have been scouring Facebook marketplace for about 6 months trying to get a tank that would meet my needs ideally something over 90 gallons. Finally I was the first one in line! I was able to snag a Planet Aquarium 140 gallon 48"x24"x29" that had been used for a freshwater tank with a DIY wet dry big canister filter and an LED light. Picked it all up for a whooping $500!
Tank cleaned.jpg
My plan is for a mixed reef heavy on the inverts as my children love watching crabs and shrimpys with as little maintenance and cost as possible. My current plan is to handle the sump (which I will DIY using a 27 gallon storage tub) and plumbing (Herbie overflow) and then get the sand and rockwork set out so I can begin the cycling process. I also plan on utilizing a gravity fed ATO in my attic:face-with-open-mouth::eek: by placing a 27 gallon storage container with a lid connected to the RODI system with a float valve in the container but only turning this on manually. I then plan to create a drip tray using a 38 gallon container in case of a problem that would then drain outside as a failsafe. This would allow me to put the gravity fed ATO in the attic (supported well of course) and then connect into the sump via a float valve. I also have been looking into a WiFi controlled 1/4" solenoid valve like this one to be able to shut it off remotely.