Flow questions on 120g

aceuass

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, Newbie here, I know the search bar is a very powerful tool but I just dont know what to ask, or what I am supposed to be looking for in the answers
I just upgraded from a Biocube 32 to an SCA 120, I have decided on the triton method, and as this system requires 10x water return I am going with a return pump to meet that, so I am also thinking about other forms or flow in the tank like powerheads, so the question is knowing that I am returning water to the tank at 10x how much more flow will I need, is something like a MP40 overkill, I have a Jabao CP90 that I bought but never used for the bio-cube, or maybe 2 smaller powerheads at either end,
I am going with a variety reef tank, I have some small SPS, LPS and various small Zoa rock gardens, also started a small rock formation with Gorgonians, with the bigger tank I am looking to space everything out, there is a couple of Clowns, Caribbean Blue Tang, Bi-Color Blennie, will add a few more fish later, any help would much appreciated, thanks

DC Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Rule of thumb is 20-40 x tank volume flow per hour. If the SCA is a 120 gallon tank I would expect 2 or more MP 40s in the display tank.

PBnJOnWheat

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, Newbie here, I know the search bar is a very powerful tool but I just dont know what to ask, or what I am supposed to be looking for in the answers