Flow Sensors - Usage and Example setup

[email protected]HLUSA

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
613
Reaction score
386
Let's talk flow sensors. How could a flow sensor be a useful addition to your system, what can you do with it, and how to configure it.



  • Basic usage: Monitor flow rate(s), return pump, media reactors, UV, refugium, skimmer etc..
  • Advanced usage: Monitor and Control Flow to parts of the system, in combination with 0-10v Controllable pumps.


On my system, I use it to keep a pre-set and steady amount of flow to the display from my return pump.
Why not just set the pump and forget it? Because manifold and media reactors.

I run a single return pump(Royal Exclusiv RD3 80w 10v controllable) with a manifold feeding 2x media reactors with Carbon and Phosphate Remover.

Occasionally the reactors require media change-out, or flow adjustment depending on the media, fill level, etc.
With the flow sensor configured, I can open up both reactors, or shut them off completely, within seconds the return pump will compensate up/down to adjust the flow to the desired rate.






Configuration:
1. Set Flow sensor index
2. Set Nominal Value (desired flow rate)
3. OPTIONAL: Set Alarm Threshold (Alarm if flow below this rate)
4. Set 0-10v output channel to "Constant Flow"




As I open or close any of the reactor feed valves, the P3 will adjust the flow by increasing or decreasing the 10v signal voltage to my return pump. Neat!


Per request, here are the store links:
 
Last edited:

Gaël

Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
50
Reaction score
33
Location
France
Good thread :)

Just one thing, for now, if you do maintenance task and need to stop pump and setup a Profilux maintenance for that, you will anyway get an alarm...
When a Profilux maintenance is activated, all other sensor alarms (level, ph, redox, o2, conductivity, temp...) are temporary disabled, except flow alarm.
 
OP
Support@GHLUSA

[email protected]LUSA

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
613
Reaction score
386
@d2mini - You'll appreciate this :)

Good thread :)

Just one thing, for now, if you do maintenance task and need to stop pump and setup a Profilux maintenance for that, you will anyway get an alarm...
When a Profilux maintenance is activated, all other sensor alarms (level, ph, redox, o2, conductivity, temp...) are temporary disabled, except flow alarm.
Yes, you are correct. Currently the alarm is not disabled by maintenance tasks. It's been discussed, more on this in the future. :) - Thank You!
 

Defiant Arms

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
161
Reaction score
88
Marco is that a 6061 mount on your tank?

heavily debating on waiting for the GHL rendition "supposed to be out soon" or just going with the 6061 for my mitras 6200

sorry to derail
 

Jonty

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
482
Reaction score
383
Can you provide a link to purchase the flow meters , I can not find on the GHL website?
 
OP
Support@GHLUSA

[email protected]

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
613
Reaction score
386

d2mini

Moderator
View Badges
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
4,079
Reaction score
6,236
Location
Houston, TX
Marco, what are the I.D. of the three flow sensors?
 
OP
Support@GHLUSA

[email protected]

Team GHL
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
613
Reaction score
386
Marco, what are the I.D. of the three flow sensors?
Dennis:
  • Flow Sensor 2000 l/h = 10mm (~3/8")
  • Flow Sensor 5000 l/h = 20mm (~3/4")
  • Flow Sensor 9000 l/h = 25mm (~ 1")

 

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
38,382
Reaction score
37,864
Nice thread!
 

CastAway

Prone to wander, never lost.
View Badges
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
4,457
Reaction score
3,261
Location
Knoxville TN
Love it.
Need to win the lottery.
 

d2mini

Moderator
View Badges
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
4,079
Reaction score
6,236
Location
Houston, TX

reefwiser

LMAS
View Badges
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
6,510
Reaction score
7,121
Location
Louisville,Kentucky
One of the neat things about GHL is that they are far advanced on control of flow and dosing.
 

Dumaurier7

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
760
Reaction score
272
Location
Carribean
Hi Marco , are there any particular level ports like (1-4 or 5-8 etc) that are used to do flow control? I will be installing 3x flow sensors, 3x level sensors and a leak detection module.
 
Last edited:

[email protected]

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
282
Reaction score
364
Flow sensors can be connected to the Level 1 and 2 port.

Additional flow sensors should be connected to an Expansion card with Level Ports.
 
Bulk Reef Supply
Budman's Corals LLC
Top