Flow Sensors - Usage and Example setup

Discussion in 'GHL Advanced Technology' started by Marco@GHLUSA, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Let's talk flow sensors. How could a flow sensor be a useful addition to your system, what can you do with it, and how to configure it.

    [​IMG]

    • Basic usage: Monitor flow rate(s), return pump, media reactors, UV, refugium, skimmer etc..
    • Advanced usage: Monitor and Control Flow to parts of the system, in combination with 0-10v Controllable pumps.


    On my system, I use it to keep a pre-set and steady amount of flow to the display from my return pump.
    Why not just set the pump and forget it? Because manifold and media reactors.

    I run a single return pump( Royal Exclusiv RD3 80w 10v controllable) with a manifold feeding 2x media reactors with Carbon and Phosphate Remover.

    Occasionally the reactors require media change-out, or flow adjustment depending on the media, fill level, etc.
    With the flow sensor configured, I can open up both reactors, or shut them off completely, within seconds the return pump will compensate up/down to adjust the flow to the desired rate.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Configuration:
    1. Set Flow sensor index
    2. Set Nominal Value (desired flow rate)
    3. OPTIONAL: Set Alarm Threshold (Alarm if flow below this rate)
    4. Set 0-10v output channel to " Constant Flow"

    [​IMG]


    As I open or close any of the reactor feed valves, the P3 will adjust the flow by increasing or decreasing the 10v signal voltage to my return pump. Neat!


    Per request, here are the store links:
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016
    Tags:

  2. Gaël

    Gaël Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    Good thread :)

    Just one thing, for now, if you do maintenance task and need to stop pump and setup a Profilux maintenance for that, you will anyway get an alarm...
    When a Profilux maintenance is activated, all other sensor alarms (level, ph, redox, o2, conductivity, temp...) are temporary disabled, except flow alarm.
     
  3. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    @d2mini - You'll appreciate this :)

    Yes, you are correct. Currently the alarm is not disabled by maintenance tasks. It's been discussed, more on this in the future. :) - Thank You!
     
    Bunnee911 likes this.
  4. Defiant Arms

    Defiant Arms Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    88
    Marco is that a 6061 mount on your tank?

    heavily debating on waiting for the GHL rendition "supposed to be out soon" or just going with the 6061 for my mitras 6200

    sorry to derail
     
  5. Jonty

    Jonty Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    317
    Can you provide a link to purchase the flow meters , I can not find on the GHL website?
     
  6. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    sheldonjjessup and Defiant Arms like this.
  7. d2mini

    d2mini Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    4,048
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Marco, what are the I.D. of the three flow sensors?
     
  8. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Dennis:
    • Flow Sensor 2000 l/h = 10mm (~3/8")
    • Flow Sensor 5000 l/h = 20mm (~3/4")
    • Flow Sensor 9000 l/h = 25mm (~ 1")

     
    d2mini likes this.
  9. revhtree

    revhtree Owner Administrator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    20,337
    Nice thread!
     
  10. CastAway

    CastAway Prone to wander, never lost. R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,319
    Likes Received:
    2,839
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Love it.
    Need to win the lottery.
     
  11. garryclarkfl

    garryclarkfl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Wish it was capable of connecting to the apex or they would come out with their own flow meters, nice option to have.
     
  12. d2mini

    d2mini Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    4,048
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Time to upgrade! :D
     
  13. E_Aquatics

    E_Aquatics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    210
    Apex has them, just not released yet.
     
  14. garryclarkfl

    garryclarkfl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Duh
     
  15. reefwiser

    reefwiser LMAS R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,514
    Likes Received:
    3,751
    Location:
    Louisville,Kentucky
    One of the neat things about GHL is that they are far advanced on control of flow and dosing.
     
    ebushrow likes this.
  16. _NunoFerreira_

    _NunoFerreira_ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Love GHL!!!
    Ordering the flow control now :)
     
    ebushrow and Marco@GHLUSA like this.
  17. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Carribean
    Hi Marco , are there any particular level ports like (1-4 or 5-8 etc) that are used to do flow control? I will be installing 3x flow sensors, 3x level sensors and a leak detection module.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
  18. Vinny@GHLUSA

    Vinny@GHLUSA Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Toys For Kids 2016

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    92
    Flow sensors can be connected to the Level 1 and 2 port.

    Additional flow sensors should be connected to an Expansion card with Level Ports.
     
    Lasse likes this.
  19. Lasse

    Lasse Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    Källarliden 14 D Bohus, Sweden
    @Vinny@GHLUSA

    The P4 has 4 levels port. Can´t you use flow sensors on all of them?

    Sincerely Lasse
     
  20. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Carribean
    Hello, why don't I get to select flow in level control?
     

Share This Page

Loading...