Found egg like sacs around them after purchasing.

T0mar

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I'm kinda new to this hobby and was recommended to add these to my Tank. Unfortunately after observing them again, I saw these clear egg like sacs as shown in the picture. I do plan on dipping them before setting them up in my Tank. Should I be worried and is the dip enough for them to fall off? Thank you in advance!

PXL_20240314_195718619.jpg PXL_20240314_195658207.jpg

College_Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They definitely do look like egg sacs of what? I couldn't tell you unfortunately. Most dips don't actually work on eggs. You should still dip it in case there are adults however the eggs you should get a soft bristled brush and brush them off carefully and then rinse with RODI water. Then monitor for hatchlings and plan to continue re-dipping it every so often for a few months until you're confident they're gone.

WalkerLoves_TheOcean

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I'm kinda new to this hobby and was recommended to add these to my Tank. Unfortunately after observing them again, I saw these clear egg like sacs as shown in the picture. I do plan on dipping them before setting them up in my Tank. Should I be worried and is the dip enough for them to fall off? Thank you in advance!

PXL_20240314_195718619.jpg PXL_20240314_195658207.jpg
I wouldn't trust a dip with eggs...

I would either quarintine it, or bring it back.

It's to hard to ID, but it's not really worth the risk of adding them to your tank.

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yeah, those seem to be eggs - eggs on corals like that are a red flag.

Like the above, I'd either QT it in a separate tank until you're sure you've gotten rid of whatever they are or are sure they're not an issue; returning it is also a solid plan.

OP
OP
T

T0mar

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%