Frag swap, reef roids, and water changes.

HonzGrewber

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I want to start off by saying that 3rmas did an amazing job and anyone else involved with the swap. My daughter and i had a great time. I've never been to a swap before. This was all new to me but i definitely learned alot. I learned that there are a ton of people who throughly enjoy this hobby. Some of you i met some i didnt. The vendors were all very friendly and outgoing. Everyone made you feel appreciated. Sometimes i feel im brushed aside at stores because i dont have a huge tank. This is my first attempt at a saltwater aquarium or any aquarium for that matter. A little over 5 years ago i was shopping in monroeville with my daughter. Stopped at elmers as i remember when i was younger how awesome it was to me. Never owned a fish though, weird. I instantly fell in love with saltwater fish and corals. The fish seemed more fascinating and the live rock and corals made it feel alive. Most freshwater ive seen were all artificial and everything seemed fake. To each their own i guess. I was told not to do it and that it was very expensive. I did it anyways. I know now i should of got a bigger tank. It was expensive but not at first. The tank, 55lbs of live rock, sand, stand, light, filter(next tank im doing a sump), glass canopy, test kit, a heater, 2 powerheads, and some other basic things. That wasnt cheap but it wasnt unaffordable. The real cost came from me, trial, and error. I didnt trust forums because there were to many contradictions. Same with people in local stores. One said this the other said that. This changed over the years though as i got to know certain people at certain places. The first 3 years was all me learning something i knew jack **** about but wouldnt give up or allow my tank to fail. I lost corals and thats where the cost was. Hammer, torch, frogspawn corals and ricordea. All to a black sailfin blenny. Who apparently liked to spit sand at t